This is the "Start Here: Article Search Tips" page of the "BIO 133 Human Biology: Tips on How to Find Current Health & Science Articles " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIO 133 Human Biology: Tips on How to Find Current Health & Science Articles   Tags: courseguide, current articles, health, magazines, medical, medicine, newpapers, news, periodicals, science  

Assignment for Professor Suzanne Long's BIO 133 class
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.monroecc.edu/BIO133 Print Guide RSS Updates

Start Here: Article Search Tips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Guide Overview

This web guide was created to assist you in locating current health and science magazine and newspaper articles for the news article report assignments in the BIO 133 course.

Image of a newspaper and news website

Recommended Article Databases

The following databases are useful for locating magazine and newspaper articles in the fields of science and health in publications such as: Discover, Harvard Health Letter, Natural Health, New Scientist, Newsweek, Popular Science, The New York Times, Science News, and Scientific American.

  • MasterFILE Premier  
      
    Full-text for over 1,950 periodicals relating to a broad range of topics.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition  
      
    Access to nearly 80 full-text, consumer health magazines, pamphlets and health reference books providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
  • Associates Programs Source  
      
    Nearly 1000 full-text journals providing comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates degree programs research needs.
  • General OneFile  
      
  • InfoTrac Newsstand  
      
    Provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S., regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.

Database Tutorials

Contacting the Teacher

Suzanne Long teaches BIO 133 Human Biology. Students taking this course online may contact her by e-mail at slong@monroecc.edu, and telephone (585) 292-2725.

Terms / Keywords to Use When Searching for Articles

Instructions are provided in this guide on how to find articles for the news article report assignments using the MasterFILE Premier library article database. Links to credible websites containing select full-text science and health articles are also provided to assist you with this assignment. 

A successful search for magazine and newspaper articles on your topic in the library databases and in Google often depends upon what terms/keywords you type in the search box.

1) You can perform a search in an article database such as MasterFILE Premier or in Google using some of the recommended terms below. These search terms will work also work in other library databases. See box on the left for links to access.

  • New advances in medicine
  • Biotechnology
  • Medical breakthroughs
  • Medical innovations
  • Most significant medical events
  • Medical technology
  • New medical treatments, or new treatments
  • Scientific advances
  • Technological innovations
  • The Year in Medicine
  • Top medical innovations

Example of a Basic Keyword Search

Image showing how to perform a search in a Ebscohost database using "and" to connect search terms together. 

2) You can combine these terms with your topic to create different search strategies using the word "and" to help locate more focused articles on your topic.

Example of a Keyword Search Strategy using the word "and" to connect your search terms

Image showing how to perform a basic search in MasterFILE Premier limiting it to full-text articles

  Right arrow to go to the next page Interpreting Search Results

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip