This is the "Start Here" page of the "Writing an Annotated Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing an Annotated Bibliography  

An annotated bibliography is a bibliography that includes a brief summary and/or critique of your sources of information.
Last Updated: Nov 23, 2011 URL: http://libguides.monroecc.edu/annotated Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Start Here Print Page
  Search: 
 

What Is a Citation

The information that identifies an article, book, or other material is a CITATION.

A citation for an article typically includes author, title of article, title of periodical, date, volume, issue, pages and date.

A citation for a book includes author, title, place of publication, publisher and date. Commonly used styles of citation are American Psychological Association (APA), Modern Language Association (MLA) and Chicago Citation Style.

Detailed information on different citation styles you can find at the following links:

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


What Is an Annotated Bibliography?

An annotated bibliography is a bibliography in which each citation is accompanied by a brief note - an annotation. The annotation summarizes and/or evaluates the source being cited. It provides an overview of the research that has been done on a topic. This guide will show you how to write an annotated bibliography.

Click on the tabs above Helpful Hints on writing an annotated bibliography and Examples of Annotations.

      
     

    What Is a Bibliography?

    A bibliography is an old word for a list of sources (articles, books and other material) used by authors in their works. Usually you will find bibliographies at the end of an article, book or web site.

    Instead of a bibliography you might see a section of sources titled:

    • Works Cited
    • References
    • Works Consulted
     

    Credits

    Created by Ellen Mancuso based upon a print brochure by Michael McCullough. Edited by Stephanie Hranjec.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip