Research Guides: Health & Disease Research Guide: Websites

Evaluating Websites

It is important to evaluate information gathered from websites. The Evaluating Online Sources guide shows you how.

The following sites provide tips for evaluating health-related information found on the Internet:

A User's Guide to Finding & Evaluating Health Information on the Web
Guidelines from the Medical Library Association.
Evaluating Health Information
This site from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) contains links to tutorials on finding and evaluating health information, plus other tips to help you determine if a source is reliable.

DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions. Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information.
National Center for Complementary & Integrative Health (NCCIH)
The Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine.
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Information on drugs of abuse and related topics.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Provides users with credible, reliable health information on: Data and Statistics, Diseases and Conditions, Emergencies and Disasters, Environmental Health, Healthy Living, Injury, Violence and Safety, Life Stages and Populations, Travelers' Health, Workplace Safety and Health, and more!
Healthfinder.gov
Mayo Clinic
MedlinePlus.gov
Health information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition
A committee of 25 volunteer citizens who advise the President through the Secretary of Health and Human Services. Through its programs and partnerships with the public, private and non-profit sectors, PCFSN serves as a catalyst to promote healthy lifestyles through fitness, sports and nutrition programs and initiatives that engage Americans across the lifespan.

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
The nation's largest organization of food and nutrition professionals. This site provides access to a wide range of health & nutrition information fact sheets.
Alzheimer's Association
Provides information about Alzheimer's disease for the general public, professional care providers and researchers.
American Diabetes Association
"The mission of the American Diabetes Association is to prevent and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes."
American Heart Association
American Psychological Association
The APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide. It is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States.
Arthritis Foundation
"The mission of the Arthritis Foundation is to improve lives through leadership in the prevention, control and cure of arthritis and related diseases."