A periodical is any publication that comes out with regular issues. A daily newspaper, a weekly news magazine, a monthly journal, and an annual book series are all examples of periodicals.
Some periodicals are published in ways that make them more valuable to scholars. Periodicals that are "scholarly", "refereed", or "peer-reviewed" all have articles that are reviewed by experts in the subject. Some examples are included below. See the "Professional Physical Education & Athletic Journals Available Through the Library" section.
For other types of periodicals, the articles may be reviewed by a professional editor who is not an expert in the subject.
Visit the MCC Libraries Journals, Magazines, and Trade Publications guide to learn more about the differences between these types of publications.
The Library no longer subscribes to any print scholarly journals in print. Full-text access to scholarly journal titles, popular magazines, and newspapers is available online through library database subscriptions. See the A-Z List of Library Databases.
A wide range of full-text magazine, newspapers, and journal articles are available through online database subscriptions the library has purchased access to. Links to search these resources are located on the A-Z List of Library Databases available on the Library website and on the library tab in myMCC/Blackboard. Examples of some databases that cover published literature on various aspects of physical education and athletics are included in the "Find Articles in Library Databases" box below.
Our OneSearch discovery tool available below, on the library website, and on the Library tab in myMCC/Blackboard, searches about 60 different databases all at once, plus some free Open Access collections of scholarly articles made directly available on publisher's websites. OneSearch contains scholarly articles published on physical education-related subjects.
Examples of professional journals available online in library databases or freely available on the Web.
Click the links below to browse the scholarly articles available in these publications.
Online journal articles in library databases have a citation tool available in each article record. Citations for articles are available in a variety of formats including APA (American Psychological Association).
How can I find out what other physical education related journals are available online through MCC Libraries?
Use the Find Publications Online tool to browse lists of journals in various subject areas, or type in the name of a publication you are interested in to see if it us available to access online.
The following library databases contain full-text articles available directly online from professional scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade/industry publications covering aspects of physical education and sports.
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering most subjects. Contains peer-reviewed articles as well as general interest material. Partially full-text.
Covers all aspects of business. Includes articles from scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry publications, and newspapers, plus company information and profiles. Partially full-text.
Contains scholarly and magazine articles on education-related subjects from early childhood to higher education. Also covers specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Partially full-text.
Provides articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering psychology, psychiatry, mental health, anthropology, and more. Partially full-text.
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.
