Online collection of full-text e-books that cover a wide range of topics. Includes fiction and nonfiction, biographies, reference resources, and more.
Offers full-text, online e-books covering a wide range of subjects and topics.
Books on careers, financial aid and scholarship information are shelved in different locations in both the LeRoy V. Good Library and Downtown Campus Learning Commons, and many of ones below are available as eBooks.
The Ultimate Scholarship Book 2021
by
Information on 1.5 million scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory with more than 300 new listings that feature awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more. Each entry contains all the necessary information for students and parents to complete the application process, including eligibility requirements, how to obtain an application, how to get more information about each award, sponsor website listings, award amounts, and key deadlines. With scholarships for high school, college, graduate, and adult students, this guide also includes tips on how to conduct the most effective search, how to write a winning application, and how to avoid scams.
Still Room for Humans: career planning in an AI world
by
Don't let artificial intelligence and robots steal your job! Still Room for Humans is the only survival guide you need to stay employable in the future:? Learn how to make yourself indispensable to your company.? Learn how to develop "soft skills" that robots and AI cannot match.? Learn how to collaborate with robots.? Learn how to retool your skills without going back to school. ? Learn which traditionally "safe careers and entire industries will no longer be safe in the future because of artificial intelligence.Learn why the changes caused by disruptive technology will be far greater and take place far faster than in previous industrial revolutions. This book offers several ways to cope with the introduction of artificial intelligence and robotics to a company or organization as well as how to take advantage of the disruption likely to result from other new technologies including 3D printing, the Internet of Things, virtual reality, green technologies, Big Data, blockchain, and nanotechnology. Still Room for Humans spells out the types of jobs long associated with well-paying careers that should be avoided because they are most likely to be eliminated by artificial intelligence. It lists several new jobs that don't exist yet but will be created shortly as new technologies become more prevalent. Schatt provides career planning information as well as specific advice for those readers already employed.
Take Charge of Your Nursing Career, Second Edition
by
Awarded second place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development! The essential theme of the book is the notion of career as a fluid process. A career is not stagnant or simply a job. It is a process that must be nurtured-constantly grown and managed. A career is an opportunity to find one's voice and use it to promote both the individual and professional impact of one's expertise. A career should be challenging, always giving way to more learning and mentoring opportunities. Career is a global concept; the intricacies of career development and management across the globe cannot be overlooked. A career journey ebbs and flows-one of the great characteristics of a professional nursing career. There are always options to consider on one's career path-opportunities to gain experience and expertise in diverse areas, often never considered by professional nurses. Take Charge of Your Nursing Career provides the reader with a unique and distinct perspective on career development and management. It covers timely and relevant topics, strategies, tips, and examples for professional nurses to use to develop and manage their careers from beginning to end. It also provides resources and websites that they can access as needed as they define their personal career trajectory. The topics discussed throughout the book are ones that professional nurses at all points on their career journey are asking about and dealing with in their careers, now and in the future. Professional nurses can turn to this user-friendly book through the entirety of their career.
Your Career Marketing Plan
by
Know Your Core Skills and Soft Skills (And the Difference Between the Two) -- Establish Your Personal Brand and Positioning -- Determine Your Passions and What Energizes You -- What Are Your Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats? And more!
Burn Ladders. Build Bridges
by
"Patterson doesn't offer tricks, gimmicks, or slogans of ten-steps-to-happiness. This is a book of deep wisdom as well as practical advice. Anyone who reads it will be wiser--and happier on the job--for it." -Mark Walters, Professor, University of South Florida Burn Ladders. Build Bridges. undoes the status-quo of career enhancement. Tearing up the playbook and finding breakthrough ways to create impact, build meaning, fuel your passion to do bigger, greater things-while enjoying the entire journey. No matter what stage you're currently in. Maybe you're going from college to career and wondering how on earth you're going to unlock all the business world has to offer. Or maybe you're the experienced professional who wants more out of their lot in life and to make work abundantly more fulfilling. Or maybe you want to be that leader-the one who connects. Engages. Inspires. But haven't had the mentor or the training to set you up for success. No matter what your goals, what lies on these pages can put you on a path. An enlightening one. Unlike other career wisdom, you'll find the balance of theory and practicality. Of success and connection. And be able to demonstrate leadership and find your purpose in whatever position you're in, organization you work for or business you create. Burn Ladders. Burn Bridges. is ready to help you find the inherent joy in it all. Are you?
Contemporary Criminal Justice Careers
by
Picking up where Exploring and Understanding Careers in Criminal Justice, left off, Matthew J. Sheridan and Thomas J. Lalka provide an updated guide for the novice and professional alike. The chapters are crafted to provide essential information to guide the job seeker from entrance into the profession, through career development, occupational refocus, professional options, to retirement preparation. Taking into consideration the effects of the pandemic, current social unrest, and recent tragedies, the authors examine how the "new normal" will bring change and opportunities throughout criminal justice careers. With an emphasis on planning, personal development, and preparation this book outlines career paths that can provide rewards for satisfaction during and after careers. On top of invaluable information on a variety of specific careers, this book also includes sixteen appendices that cover successful job hunting, internships, a guide to interview questions, a document portfolio checklist, paying for college, and profiles of 18 professionals in criminal justice field from a parole officer to a correctional architect. This is an excellent resource for students, faculty, advisors, and classroom instruction for guidance into a successful criminal justice career that will be loved, from first employment to retirement. cklist, paying for college, and profiles of 18 professionals in criminal justice field from a parole officer to a correctional architect. This is an excellent resource for students, faculty, advisors, and classroom instruction for guidance into a successful criminal justice career that will be loved, from first employment to retirement. cklist, paying for college, and profiles of 18 professionals in criminal justice field from a parole officer to a correctional architect. This is an excellent resource for students, faculty, advisors, and classroom instruction for guidance into a successful criminal justice career that will be loved, from first employment to retirement.
Use the catalogs below to search for books not available at MCC, but that you can request to borrow from other libraries:
Catalog of the Monroe County Library System, including the main Rochester Public Library, all branches and town libraries.
Vault provides information on careers, industries, and professions, and also includes current job listings, company profiles, interview tips, and an Internship Resource Center. Vault also provides access to 70+ micro-credentialing courses, and 300+ career fairs through CareerEco. Note: This database requires you to login with your MCC Network Account.
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.