Accessibility Resources in the Library

• Articles in most library databases can be read with JAWS.
• Articles available in PDF format can be downloaded and read aloud in Adobe Acrobat.
• Some library databases such as JSTOR contains PDFs of article page images. Since these articles were not created with Optical Character Recognition (OCR) they cannot be read aloud by JAWS or Acrobat.
• Two library vendors, EBSCO and Gale, provide resources with native "read out loud" capability.

Ebscohost articles that are available in  "Online full text" and "PDF" format can be read aloud using the Listen (text-to-speech) feature. Most Ebscohost library online subscription databases contain the "Listen" feature. The link below provides access.

To use the "Listen" feature:

1. Find an EBSCOhost article of interest.

2. Click "Access Options" then choose "Online full text" or "PDF."

2. Next click the "headphone" icon.in the menu that appears at the top of the article.
 

A "Listen" sidebar with appear showing these available features. 

• volume
• playback speed
• download mp3
• text highlighting and automatic scrolling are available for the "Online full text" format.

All full-text content in Gale Cengage library online databases include the following accessibility features.

To access the following features in the detailed record view click on the title of an article in your search results.

1) Translate - select from a wide range of language choices.

2) Decrease font size

3) Increase font size

4) Display options:

• Change the color of the article background to better view text on the screen.
• Additional font choices, such as OpenDyslexic for readers with different needs.
• Line, word, and letter spacing for individuals to choose what style is easiest to read.

5) Listen