The HGHRC is affiliated with The Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Project of MCC. Established in 1990, the Project is MCC's unique organization for telling the stories of the Holocaust and other genocides while transforming individuals to become advocates for human rights.
The Charles R. Clarke Collection for Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Studies (HGHRC) is a special collection of materials housed in the LeRoy V. Good Library at Monroe Community College. Originally begun as a private collection, the materials were for the use of the Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Project. In 1998 the collection was moved to the third floor of the library, and the HGHRC was born.
In the beginning, the collection was devoted to the study of specific instances of historical genocide, particularly the Holocaust of the 20th century, as well as the theories and history behind those atrocities. In 2002, the focus was expanded to human rights issues, and, in 2012, the official name was changed to the Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Center. In 2014, the HGHRC moved to a new, larger room in the LeRoy V. Good Library (2-440) due to the growing size of the collection. At that time the name was again changed to honor long-time MCC professor and Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Project director, Charlie Clarke, officially becoming the Charles R. Clarke Collection for Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Studies.
The HGHRC seeks to educate the public about the very problems we wish to avoid facing. It presents us with the issues of good and evil, compassion and empathy, and humanity's tendency to distrust those who are different. The collection addresses how we undermine others’ human rights and how we can circumvent these atrocities in the future through education and peace initiatives. The collection now contains over 2,500 holdings, including books and videos.
The Holocaust, Genocide, and Human Rights Center is administered by:
Lori Annesi
Special Collections Librarian
(585) 292-2338
lannesi@monroecc.edu
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.