Research Guides: FSA 107 Menu Planning: Resources for Food History Paper

Finding Books on Food History

Use the Find Books & Media link below to look for books covering aspects of food history on your topic available in the library.

If you have not decided on what topic to pick for your food history paper then consider typing in any of these keywords (cookery, cooking, culinary history, food and history, gastronomy) to find print books and e-books to explore for ideas of topics to research.

Tips for Using Library Catalog Records to Find Print Books on Library Shelves:

1) Find an item of interest and click on the title link to connect to the catalog record. Next scroll down to the Details section to learn more about the item.

2) Next scroll up to the Get It section to check Availability. If the item is not checked out write down the Stacks number (also known as the call number) so you can find the item on the shelf. Books with call numbers A-P are located on the 3rd Floor. Books Q-Z are located on the 4th Floor.

Access the MCC Library Catalog
Search for print books and e-books in the library collection.

Online Food Reference Books

Tips for Using the Following Online Food Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc.

Coverage of food topics varies in the following sources.
If you do not find the information you need in one book try looking in another.
Read the description next to the book cover to see instructions on how to best look-up information in the book.
Off-campus access requires sign-in.

Taste: a Philosophy of Food by Sarah E. Worth
ISBN: 9781789144802

Publication Date: 2021-11-19

Use the Search box to locate information on your topic. From taste as an abstract concept to real examples of food, the author explores how we can learn about and develop our sense of taste through themes ranging from pleasure, authenticity, and food fraud, to visual images, recipes, and food writing.
Soda and Fizzy Drinks by Judith Levin
ISBN: 9781789144918

Publication Date: 2021-09-10

Use the Search box to locate information on your topic. An effervescent exploration of the global history and myriad symbolic meanings of carbonated beverages. Are they medicinally, morally, culturally, or nutritionally good or bad? This book looks not only at how something made from water, sugar, and soda became big business, but also how it became deeply important to people--for fizzy drinks' symbolic meanings are far more complex than the water, gas, and sugar from which they are made.
The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Conee Ornelas (Editor)
To check if this encyclopedia has food history information on your topic click the "Contents" link and browse the list of the book chapters, and click the "Headings" link to browse the A-Z of Entries.
The Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink by John F. Mariani
Browse the A-Z list of subjects to find your topic or type your topic in the "Search Within Publication" box at the top of the window.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture by Solomon H. Katz; William Woys Weaver
Once connected to the book type your topic in the "Search within Publication" at the top of the page. Also explore the Table of Contents, and the Index - there may be several mentions of the topic there on different pages of the book.
Ethnic American Food Today by Lucy M. Long
This encyclopedia is organized according to nationality, and each entry is identified primarily by the official name of the nation. To check if information is available on a certain food click the "Index" link at the bottom of the Table of Contents.
Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia by Andrew F. Smith
To check if information is available on a certain food click the "Index" link at the bottom of the Table of Contents. There may be several mentions of the topic on different pages of the book.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by Ken Albala
Once connected to the book click "Table of Contents" then "Choose a Volume" from the drop-down menu, then once in the volume you want click the "Index" link. This encyclopedia is organized by country, with some entries for regions of countries and for ethnic groups. Each entry includes: an overview, food culture snapshot, major foodstuffs, cooking, typical meals, eating out, special occasions, diet and health.
World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-gatherers to the Age of Globalization by Mary Ellen Snodgrass
To check if information is available on your topic scroll down to the Table of Contents section and click the "A-Z Entries" link to browse the list of entries.

Print Books with Food History in the LVG Library

Encyclopedia of Jewish Food

Gran Cocina Latina

A History of Food

The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink

The Oxford Companion to Italian Food

Find Articles, Books & More Using OneSearch!

Advanced Search | A-Z Databases | Library Account | OneSearch Help Guide

Explore Food Industry Trade Associations

Food industry trade associations, commissions, councils, and organizations often contain food history information,recipes, tips for handling, preparing, storing and serving food items, plus information about membership fees, events, education, conferences, and much more!

Food & Beverage Trade Associations
A master list links to Food Trade organizations.
National & Regional Food Associations
From The Food Institute
Commodities & Products
Extensive research tool for a wide variety of food topics: agritourism, biomass, fiber, specialty crops along with the standard foodstuff. Developed by the Agricultural and Marketing Resource Center (AgMRC) at Iowa State University.

Food History Websites

What's Cooking America: History & Legends of Favorite Foods
Highly recommended. Contains food history information on hundreds of common and unique foods, and some beverages, with emphasis on desserts (cakes, pies) and sandwiches. Some entries include recipes. Sponsor: Linda Stradley, What's Cooking America.
America the Bountiful
A library exhibit which provides information about the following 10 classic American food groups: beef, chicken, turkey, pork, potatoes, corn, greens, wheat, beans, and apples during historical periods. Click the “Did You Know?” link at the bottom of each entry to learn more about each food. Sponsor: University of California - Davis
Culinary History: Best of the Web
A list of selected Internet sites covering different aspects of culinary history including beverages and international cookery. Sponsor: New York Public Library (NYPL)
The Food Timeline
Food History information A-Z. This site is organized by date, recipe, or agricultural advancement. Sponsor: Lynne Olver, Reference Librarian
Food Timeline: Social History, Manners & Menus
Throughout the U.S and world. Sponsor: Lynne Olver, Reference Librarian
A Gode Book of Cookery
A compilation of medieval recipes, along with diverse facts facts on food and feasting in the Middle Ages and Renaissance.
The Old Foodie Blog
A short story on a food history topic is posted every weekday along with at least one historic recipe, and sometimes a historic menu. Scroll down on the blog page to see the archive of previous food history blog posts, and access other food history blogs and websites.
Sally's Place: Ethnic Cuisine
An A to Z directory of food histories organized by country name. Some recipes are also included. Sponsor: Sally Bernstein
Afroculinaria
The first blog devoted to African American historic foodways and their legacies.

FSA 107 Menu Planning