Research Guides: FSA 107 Menu Planning: Nutrition in Menu Planning

Find Articles in Library Databases

Culinary Arts - Gale OneFile
Covers all aspects of cooking and nutrition; includes searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information in addition to trade journal and magazine articles. Partially full-text.
Hospitality and Tourism - Gale OneFile
Well-rounded coverage of the hospitality industry, including the cultural aspects of food, travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and related topics. Partially full-text.

The Cook's Thesaurus
"A cooking encyclopedia that covers thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools. Entries include pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations, and suggested substitutions." Sponsor: Lori Alden
Nutrient Data Laboratory
Provides information on food composition through the online USDA Nutrient Database for Standard Reference includes links to measurement conversion tables, and reports on individual nutrient value in foods. Sponsor: Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Nutrition.gov
A comprehensive site which provides access to a wide range of information on nutrition and health issues; shopping, cooking & meal planning; dietary supplements; plus links to data and statistical sources, fact sheets, and newsletters. Sponsor: National Agricultural Library, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
USDA Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
This site presents information on Choose My Plate, USDA Dietary Guidelines for Americans, Nutrition Requirements for Various Age Groups (Lifecycle Nutrition), and much more! Sponsor: U.S. Department of Agricuture (USDA)