Archives at the MCC Libraries

Designed as an introduction to the MCC Archives collection, this guide will help users to:

• Explore MCC’s history through an interactive timeline
• Browse the finding aides to locate items in the document, photograph, and video collections
• Search the library catalog to find cataloged items housed in the archives
• Access online videos and digital collections
• Discover special collections and current exhibits

The College Archives preserves records that document the history, organization, policies, procedures, and activities of the college. Services:

• Acquire and preserve records of enduring value produced by college offices, faculty, staff, and students.
• Arrange and describe records in accordance with archival standards.
• Make records accessible for research in accordance with archival policy.

• Minutes of board of trustees, academic governance board, and faculty senate meetings
• Biographical information on college presidents, board members, and retired faculty including profiles, correspondence, and news clippings
• College publications such as annual reports, departmental self-studies, Middle States-related reports, brochures, newsletters, handbooks, and course catalogs
• Student publications include the student newspaper, yearbook, literary works, club constitutions, and newsletters
• External publications include newspaper articles about MCC, and books authored by faculty and alumni
• Photos of MCC's presidents, trustees, faculty, staff, students, activities, events, campus construction, and architecture
• Videos of commencement, honors convocation, all college day, library lectures, groundbreaking ceremonies, and dedications

The College Archives are in the LeRoy V. Good Library (2-452) and are accessible by appointment only. To arrange a visit, please fill out the Archives Appointment Request Form.

For other inquiries, contact either:

Steven McWilliams
Reference Librarian, Part-Time
(585) 292-2358
smcwilliams@monroecc.edu

Alice Wilson
Associate Director
(585) 292-2304
awilson@monroecc.edu