Looking for something that isn't available at the MCC Libraries?
General Databases
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering most subjects. Contains peer-reviewed articles as well as general interest material. Partially full-text.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Note: The Google Scholar link in the A-Z List of Databases is proxied for off-campus access so that the 'ViewIt@MCC" link appears in results. If you sign-in to your Google account when off-campus the proxying will no longer be in effect for Scholar and the "ViewIt@MCC" links will not appear. To see the “ViewIt@MCC” links when signed-in to your Google account when off-campus go to “Settings/Library Links” search for "Monroe Community College Libraries" and select it. For help go to https://libguides.monroecc.edu/googlescholar.
Offers full-text, online e-books covering a wide range of subjects and topics. Using the AI Research Assistant in Ebook Central video
Specialized Databases
A collection of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
MCC faculty, students and staff can access content from The New York Times Digital Edition from present back to 1851 through an Academic Site License. Note: Cooking, Games and e-reader editions (e.g. kindle Fire, Nook, etc.) are not included. However, you can add a subscription to Cooking or Games to your free institutional account. Once you have created an account, you will then be able to access The New York Times via the web or by mobile apps. For more information see How do I register for campus-wide access to The New York TImes?
MCC Libraries has print and digital books on a wide range of subjects, including diplomacy, international relations, and specific countries.
The Renewable Revolution: How We Can Fight Climate Change, Prevent Energy Wars, Revitalize the Economy, and Transition to a Sustainable Future
by
Provides an interdisciplinary approach-interweaving technology, economics, environmental science, philosophy, history, spirituality and politics asserting that to understand the crisis and find sustainable solutions requires a holistic perspective. Kamal discusses the vast renewable resource we have at our disposal in the form of solar, wind, water, heat and biogas, and the technologies used to harness this power. He also elaborates on the emerging prospects of solar hydrogen fuel cells, biofuels and geothermal energy, and explains the true economic advantages of a shift to a renewables-based economy and how we can get there. --Adapted from publisher description.
The Seventh Decade: The New Shape of Nuclear Danger
by
From the bestselling author ofThe Fate of the Earth, a provocative look at the urgent threat posed by America's new nuclear policies When the cold war ended, many Americans believed the nuclear dilemma had ended with it. Instead, the bomb has moved to the dead center of foreign policy and even domestic scandal. From missing WMDs to the outing of CIA agent Valerie Plame, nuclear matters are back on the front page. In this provocative book, Jonathan Schell argues that a revolution in nuclear affairs has occurred under the watch of the Bush administration, including a historic embrace of a first-strike policy to combat proliferation. The administration has also encouraged a nuclear renaissance at home, with the development of new generations of such weaponry. Far from curbing nuclear buildup, Schell contends, our radical policy has provoked proliferation in Iran, North Korea, and elsewhere; exacerbatedglobal trafficking in nuclear weapons; and taken the world into an era of unchecked nuclear terror. Incisive and passionately argued, The Seventh Decade offers essential insight into what may prove the most volatile decade of the nuclear age.
Educating All Children: A Global Agenda
by
Access to education increased enormously in the past century, and higher proportions of people are completing primary, secondary, or tertiary education than ever before. But efforts to universalize the provision of high-quality schooling face major problems. In Educating All Children (which grew out of a multidisciplinary project undertaken by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences), leading experts consider the challenges of achieving universal basic and secondary education globally. The contributors discuss the current state of education and how to measure global educational progress, the history of compulsory education, political and financial obstacles to expanding education, the role of educational assessment and evaluation in developing countries, cost estimates for providing universal education (and why they differ so widely), the potential consequences of expanded global education, and the relationship between education and health.The research suggests that achieving universal primary and secondary education is both urgently needed and feasible. Will the international community commit the necessary economic, human, and political resources? The challenge, say the editors, is "as inspiring and formidable... as any extraterrestrial adventures--and far more likely to enrich and improve life on earth."
Human Rights in the Global Information Society
by
Does the information society help to advance human rights or does it threaten them? Interdisciplinary perspectives on information technology as a global policy issue.
SDG1 - No Poverty: Making the Dream a Reality
by
The first part of the book discusses what poverty and development are and asks whether the right to development is an international commitment to eradicate poverty. The second part looks at the strategy of the Sustainable Development Goals, and the concept of happiness for all people in the world. It examines the proposition of SDG1, evaluates the first actions taken in this area, and presents the best practice of recent SDG implementation. The final part considers several proposals and presents suggestions on how to make global action more effective.
Measuring Poverty Around the World
by
What is poverty and how much of it is there around the globe? The persistence of poverty—in rich and poor countries alike—is one of the most serious problems facing humanity. Better measurement of poverty is essential for raising awareness, motivating action, designing good policy, gauging progress, and holding political leaders accountable for meeting targets. To help make this possible, Atkinson provides a critically important examination of how poverty is—and should be—measured.
Leave No One Behind: Time for Specifics on the Sustainable Development Goals
by
The ambitious 17-point agenda known as the Sustainable Development Goals, adopted in 2015 by all members of the United Nations, contains a pledge that "no one will be left behind." This book translates that bold global commitment into an action-oriented mindset, focused on supporting specific people in specific places facing specific problems.
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.
