Skip to Main Content
MCC shield logo with text: Library Services, Monroe Community College

Library Links in Google Scholar

How to connect to library resources in Google Scholar when off campus.

MCC Library Links in Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a great research tool and searches scholarly literature from web pages, publisher web sites, professional societies, and some article databases, but search results often include articles that require payment to read.

Did you know that you can access many of these resources in Google Scholar from off-campus for free through the ViewIt@MCC link? The ViewIt@MCC link connects to articles in MCC Libraries' subscription databases.

There are two ways to do this:

OPTION A

Access Google Scholar from the link on MCC Libraries A-Z List of Databases which will authenticate you as being affiliated with MCC.

Google Scholar link in MCC Libraries A to Z List of Databases


NOTE: If you sign-in to your Google account when off-campus the proxying will no longer be in effect for Scholar and the "ViewIt@MCC" links will not appear. Follow the instructions in "Option B" below to see the "ViewIt@MCC" links in Google Scholar when signed-in to your Google account when off-campus.


OPTION B

Set up Google Scholar on your computer to include MCC Libraries ViewIt@MCC links.

Follow these steps to add MCC Libraries to your Google Scholar preferences. These steps may need to be repeated whenever you clear your browser cache.

  1. Go to https://scholar.google.com
  2. Click the "hamburger" icon in the upper-left corner of the screen. Then click "Settings"

Hamburger icon and settings link in Google Scholar menu
 

3. Next, click "Library Links" and type "Monroe Community College" in the search box. A list of results will appear.

Check the box in front of "Monroe Community College Libraries - ViewIt@MCC" and "Open WorldCat-Library Search" then click "Save."

 

Library Links screen in Google Scholar to add MCC Library to Google Scholar settings.

4. When searching Google Scholar from off-campus, the entries in the results list that include a full-text link option for articles that are in MCC Libraries databases or available elsewhere will display the link "ViewIt@MCC." Since access to library databases is restricted to MCC students and employees, you will be prompted to sign-in to your MCC Network Account in order to gain access to a full-text article.

If no full text is available from the "ViewIt@MCC" link you will be directed to the library OneSearch tool where you can click "Check for Availability" to access the "Request Full Text" link to a request a copy of the article via MCC Libraries Interlibrary Loan service. Note for this step you may be prompted to sign-in to your MCC Network Account.

View It at MCC link in a Google Scholar search result

How do I get a copy of an article I found in Google Scholar that does not have a ViewIt@MCC link?

  • Click the double arrows icon at the bottom of a result.
    Google Scholar double arrow
  • Then click the "GetIt@MCC" link that appears to the left of the arrows.

Google Scholar Get It at MCC
You will be directed to the library OneSearch tool where you can click "Check for Availability" and sign-in to access the "Request Full Text" link to a request a copy of the article via MCC Libraries Interlibrary Loan service.
 

Google Scholar Request Full Text


Questions? Contact Pam Czaja, Web Services Librarian pczaja@monroecc.edu

Credits

Guide created by Pam Czaja based upon work by Alice Wilson.

Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.