Skip to Main Content
MCC shield logo with text: Library Services, Monroe Community College

Database Troubleshooting Guide

This guide provides solutions to the most common library database problems

About this Guide

 

This guide was created to assist students and faculty in troubleshooting access and other problems encountered when trying to use library databases from both on and off-campus, and to alert users about any temporary database issues or outages.

Information is also included on how to add persistent links to library materials in Brightspace courses.

 

Reporting a Problem with a Library Database

How do I report a problem with a library database?

Due to a variety of reasons, sometimes a library database may be temporarily unavailable. If you encounter a database that is not available, then either wait a while to try again to access it, or select a different database from the A-Z List of Databases.

If you find that a library database is consistently unavailable then report the problem by completing the Library Database Technical Problem Report Form.

Getting Started: How Do I Access the Library Databases?

Library database content can be accessed from both the Library Sevices tile in myMCC and the MCC Libraries website. 

Off-campus access requires sign-in with your MCC e-mail address and password.

  • Under Resources choose the Find Articles & Databases link to access the A-Z List of Databases.
     

  • Use OneSearch to look for books, articles, video and more. OneSearch searches across 80 of the library's 120+ databases, including our book catalog. To learn more visit the OneSearch Help Guide: http://libguides.monroecc.edu/OneSearch

Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.