BE SURE TO SCROLL DOWN THROUGH THE ENTIRE PAGE TO SEE ALL OF THE AVAILABLE TROUBLESHOOTING TIPS. THE FOLLOWING CATEGORIES OF HELP ARE AVAILABLE ON THIS PAGE:
Your access may have expired, or your MCC Student Account may not be active in the college's authentication system. Contact the MCC Student Technology Help Desk for assistance with your MCC Student Account (585) 292-8324 choose Option #1. Hours: Monday - Friday from 9 am to 4 pm and also on Saturday from 8 am to 12 noon. Saturday hours are only during the fall and spring semesters.
Note: If you have recently registered, it takes 1 business day before all of your student account information sync's throughout the college's authentication system. Wait until the next day to try accessing the library resources
Contact the Employee Technology Support Center to verify if your employee account is active in the college's authentication system: (585) 292-8324 choose Option #3. Hours: Monday - Friday 8:45 am to 4:45 pm.
This message appears if you have not actively used the database for a period of time. Return to the A-Z List of Databases and click on the database web link to start again.
Some databases, such as the Morningstar Investment Research Center, have a limited number of simultaneous users. If you get a message stating that the database is unavailable, try to access it again at a later time.
Contact your course instructor to let them know about the problem, and if this problem occurs when you are on or off-campus. It may be that a persistent link to a library resource was not set-up correctly in the Brightspacecourse. The Persistent Links: Adding Links to Library Materials in Brightspace guide was created to assist faculty and students who want to learn where to find persistent links to articles and other information available in specific library databases, and how to add them into Brightspace course content or an assignment submission so they are accessible from off-campus.
I'm trying to access a library database, but my browser is displaying one of the following messages: "Your connection is not private", "There is a problem with this website's security certificate", or "Your connection is not secure", What should I do?
MCC Libraries use a security certificate which helps to eliminate security exception errors in Internet browsers. However, sometimes database vendors switch to a secure site (use an https url to access a database instead of an http url) without notifying us of this change in advance. The library has to add the secure https database URL to our security certificate and to our EZproxy configuration file which can take a day or two. In the meantime, follow the browser procedures below to permanently add the library exception on your browser which will continue to safety encrypt communications between clients and the server. Also, please let us know about the issue using the Library Database Technical Problem Report Form on this guide so we can work on getting the issue resolved.
Google Chrome
1) Click the ADVANCED link.
2) The screen will refresh. Next click the "Proceed to exproxy.monroecc.edu (unsafe)" link at the bottom of the image. Note that you may need to click on "Advanced" then the "Proceed to exproxy.monroecc.edu (unsafe)" link again in order to advance to the next screen with the link to connect to the database in step 3.
3) The screen should refresh again to show a link to connect to the database. For example: "Proceed to search-ebsochost-com.ezproxy.monroecc.edu (unsafe)". You may need to click this link again in order to connect to the database to search it.
Firefox
1) Click the "Advanced" button.
2) Next click "Except the Risk and Continue" button. Note that you may need to click on "Advanced" button then the "Except the Risk and Continue button" link again in order to connect to the database.
Microsoft Edge
Click "Continue to this website (not recommended)" to proceed.
1) Try a Different Browser
2) Clear the Browser Cache
Instructions on How to Clear the Cache
3) Enable Cookies
An internet cookie, also known as an HTTP cookie, web cookie, browser cookie, or just cookie, is a small amount of data that is sent from a website to your computer and stored in your browser’s file, while you’re browsing the internet. Cookies were designed so websites could save useful information or record a person’s browser activity. Easy examples of cookies are the shopping cart on online shopping sites, and sites that remember your username, such as social media sites. Some sites may not work properly when cookies are disabled.
* Check to be sure your browser is set to accept cookies. Many library databases require the use of cookies and will not work if they are blocked.
4) Adjust Pop-up Blocker Settings
Some library databases require the use of pop-ups in order to display some of their content. If you have a pop-up blocker enabled on your browser you may need to disable it.
5) Enable Javascript​
Javascript is a scripting language commonly used to make web pages interactive.
The Ipad does not use Java.
The latest versions of the Chrome and Firefox browsers no longer support Java. For older browsers please refer to the following:
How do I enable Java in my web browser?
6) Are you behind a Firewall?
Remote access from work or anywhere behind a firewall may not work. Sometimes the security settings on firewalls are such that authentication via a proxy server is not possible.
7) Adjust Add-ons/Extensions Settings
Certain browser extensions may interfere with access to e-resources and my need to be disabled.
Sometimes access to resources may be blocked because an adblocker on your browser is turned on, for example, Adblock Plus on Firefox. If you think this may be the case, click on the ABP icon on the top of the browser and disable the adblocker for that page.
Check your browser add-on settings:
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.