Kanopy @ MCC

Why the change?

Kanopy is a streaming video service offering documentaries and feature films for use in teaching and research operating on a lease license model. MCC Libraries purchases a 1-year lease license to Kanopy films. After the lease expires, the library loses access to the film unless it purchases another license. MCC students, faculty, and staff currently have immediate access to approximately 14 Kanopy film titles (as of March 17, 2025) until their leases expire. Visit the List of MCC Kanopy Leased Titles page on this guide to download the list.

On Wednesday December 3, 2019 MCC Libraries shifted our access model for Kanopy streaming media from "unlimited" to "mediated". Since September 2015, MCC Libraries have provided unlimited access to the entire Kanopy streaming media collection. At the same time Kanopy has been growing in popularity. As a result, costs for Kanopy have continued to escalate significantly over time and unlimited access is no longer fiscally sustainable as annual costs become unpredictable. Streaming rights currently start at $120.00/film. Changing to mediated access will allow us to continue to make leased Kanopy streaming media available in support of the curriculum.

What is Mediated Mode and how does it work?

• Mediated Mode means that any new Kanopy lease will need to be approved by library staff.
• You will still be able to search for films in Kanopy. However, when you attempt to access a film MCC Libraries do not have a lease for you will have the option to select the "request" button next to the film and fill out the request form. In the message part of the form faculty should include the course name and number for which you will use the film and a need by date. Please make your request at least 1 to 3 working days before you need the film.
• You will receive a confirmation message from Kanopy letting you know that your request was received. The request is then forwarded to our Acquisitions department. Library staff will confirm that we do not own the title in Films on Demand (another streaming media collection the library subscribes to) or in our DVD collection, and will follow-up with the requestor if needed. Library staff will then make the purchase in Kanopy.
• Please allow at least 1 to 3 working days to process and order the film. If you make a request on the weekend or after hours, the lease process will begin on the next working day. You will be notified once the film is available in Kanopy to view.

How do I know what Kanopy films we have access to?

Check the List of MCC Kanopy Leased Titles page on this guide for a list of currently leased titles (sorted by leased expiration date). If you find a title from Kanopy in the list it is immediately available to watch until the expiration date noted in the Excel file.

Why can I access some videos without having to request them?

These videos have been previously requested by another person and are already leased.

What do I do if I want to assign a film for my class?

You can search the entire Kanopy catalog using https://ezproxy.monroecc.edu/login?url=https://monroecc.kanopystreaming.com. If you find a film in Kanopy that you want to assign in your class you can submit the request in Kanopy. Please make your request at least 1 to 3 working days before you need the film.

What if I have already leased a film, but the lease expires before I need to use it?

You can let the library know ahead of time, and we can purchase another title in advance and have access start on the day you choose.

Please email Rick Squires, Collection Development Librarian at  rsquires@monroecc.edu and include:

• your course information,
• the name of the film,
• current lease length, and
• when you need the new lease to start.

You can also wait until the lease expires, and then submit a request.

Where else can I find media for my classes?

The best place to start is MCC Libraries A-Z List of Databases. Films on Demand is another database the library subscribes to that contains a variety of streaming video covering a wide range of subjects.

I have a question that isn't answered here!
If you have any additional questions, please email Rick Squires, Collection Development Librarian at rsquires@monroecc.edu.