Sometimes it helps to review some basic background information on your topic before you start your research. These databases provide encyclopedia articles and other background info.
Access the Encyclopedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, and an interactive world atlas. Also contains select journal, magazine, and newspaper articles plus primary sources.
Find background information on your topic in reference works covering every major subject, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks.
These databases cover many subjects. They're a good place to start most research. Not sure which one to choose? Looking for something more specific? Not sure how they work? Contact us and we'll help you out!
Articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers covering most subjects. Contains peer-reviewed articles as well as general interest material. Partially full-text.
Provides viewpoints and topic overviews; full-text magazine, journal, and news articles; primary source documents; statistics; images; videos; and links to authoritative websites on controversial topics.
You can also try searching in OneSearch using the box on the left side of this page. OneSearch searches about half our databases and our book collection at once.
Looking for books, not articles? For print books, try searching our online catalog. We also have e-book databases. You can read e-books online or download them to read later.
Offers full-text, online e-books covering a wide range of subjects and topics.
Want to explore other database options? Our A-Z Databases list provides access to them all, with short descriptions.
Click on the dropdown menu marked "All Subjects" near the top of the page to narrow down the list by subject. Want help choosing or using a database? Contact us for assistance!
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.
