Looking for industry or product info, best practices, relevant news, statistics, or other information related to your entrepreneurial project? MCC Libraries' databases are a great place to go for this kind of research.
Provides company and industry profiles, company histories, country overviews, SWOT reports, financial reports, and comparison charts, plus articles from academic business journals, magazines, newswire services, trade and industry publications.
Covers all aspects of business. Includes articles from scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry publications, and newspapers, plus company information and profiles. Partially full-text.
Contains scholarly, magazine, and trade journal articles on entrepreneurship and small businesses. Mostly full-text.
Access regional business journals, newspapers, newswires, and industry trade publications from the U.S. and Canada. Partially full-text.
Brings together data from 20,000+ sources and provides statistics, infographics, industry reports and forecasts, market data, insights into social trends. Also includes complany profiles on over 20 million private and public companies.
This is just a small selection of the e-books we have available. For more, try searching in OneSearch using the box on the left side of this page or contact us for assistance.
Anatomy of a Business Plan: The Step-by-Step Guide to Building a Business and Securing Your Company's Future
by
This classic how-to guide provides any entrepreneur the tools to create a well-constructed business plan. All steps are included--from initial considerations to envisioning the organizational structure to creating a growth-powering marketing plan and building for the future with airtight financial documents. The book offers proven, step-by step advice for developing and packaging the components of the plan and keeping them up to date, including cover sheets, table of contents, executive summary, organization and marketing plans, and financial and supporting documents. Five real-life business plans and blank forms and worksheets provide readers with additional user-friendly guidelines for the creation of the plans. The revisions included in the new edition include updated chapters on writing a marketing plan and financing resources as well as a new, complete example of a business plan for a nonprofit organization.
Bankable Business Plans
by
The secrets behind creating compelling and successful business plans sure to attract financial backers are revealed step-by-step in this invaluable guide. Containing detailed information on Risk Management Association (RMA) data and clear explanations of the guidelines that banks, venture capital firms, and the Small Business Administration (SBA) use to grant loans and other financial support to businesses, the resource equips potential business owners with a wealth of knowledge on lending procedures. Hundreds of useful ideas for developing, operating, marketing, and building a profitable business are included as are copious examples and resources for further study. By demonstrating how to make each business plan uniquely suited to a particular endeavor--such as home-based businesses, sole proprietorships, and franchise operations--this comprehensive handbook ensures that anyone can embark on a new business venture with confidence.
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Risk and Decisions: Building Successful Early-Stage Ventures
by
Becoming a successful entrepreneur is impossible without accepting risk - the question is which risk to take and at what time. Expert authors Thomas G. Pittz and Eric W. Liguori draw on years of working with and in early-stage ventures to provide guidance for managing the risk associated with these decisions. Throughout this book, they offer practical, no-nonsense advice for marketing and financing your business, bringing on partners and employees, networking with key connectors, and launching your business as inexpensively and aggressively as possible. Following lean startup logic, The Entrepreneur's Guide to Risk and Decisions: Building Successful Early-Stage Venturescuts through to the strategically important - and emotionally charged - decisions that separate the successful entrepreneurs from the unsuccessful. It is designed to help entrepreneurs move quickly, rapidly iterate their business models based on customer feedback, and provide guideposts for managing the risks inherent in all startup ventures.
Entrepreneur Voices on the Science of Success
by
This is not your average "success" book. We're not here to tell you how every successful person is the same or how getting up an hour earlier will change everything. Buy we do give you research-backed facts and pair them with insights and strategies from CEOs and business leaders for getting more out of your day, closing more deals for your business, and earning more money--all while living a life you're genuinely happy with. Take a deep dive into Entrepreneur Voices on the Science of Success and you'll discover the key science-backed strategies of experts, founders, and entrepreneurs like you that will help you to: Rewire your brain to build habits for success; Reach peak productivity with your perfect routine; Identify customer needs to create a more focused marketing plan; Develop high-performing individuals within your team; Attract and retain a more captive audience with cutting-edge tools; Achieve the work-life balance that works for you.
From Starting Small to Winning Big : The Definitive Digital Marketing Guide for Startup Entrepreneurs
by
Digital Marketing Guide for Start-up Entrepreneurs is a practical, step-by-step guide that will help budding entrepreneurs in setting up and executing their digital marketing strategy from scratch to achieve the goals they have set for their start-ups. Topics covered in this book include search engine optimization, content marketing, social media marketing, search engine marketing, and online reputation management are essential for entrepreneurs to learn and master for the success of their start-up. The author guides entrepreneurs in establishing a digital presence of their startups to jet fuel their business growth. He brings in real-life examples and insights gained from executing digital marketing strategies for start-ups and small businesses. This book is perfect for start-up entrepreneurs, founders, marketers, and small business owners who are unaware of digital marketing concepts and how to use digital marketing for their advantage. It will give them practical tips on applying digital marketing to increase their brand awareness and sales-a concise book that can be completed quickly. The text serves as a reference guide for start-up entrepreneurs, to which they can always come back to while setting up and executing their digital marketing strategy.
In the Business of Change: How Social Entrepreneurs are Disrupting Business as Usual
by
Meet the social entrepreneurs who are using business to disrupt the status quo and rebuild their communities Our communities are facing the fallout from the demise of vital industry, bankrupt economies, bad policy or policing, and political mismanagement. People are looking for answers, and the "same old" simply won't do. In the Business of Change is a practical and inspirational guide that showcases how social entrepreneurs from places such as New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Vancouver, who are weary of waste, injustice, and government inaction, are using business savvy to tackle challenges in their communities. Part storytelling, part lessons learned, coverage includes: Profiles of remarkable individuals and companies in such diverse sectors as employment, food, art, education, and social justice An overview of lessons learned and real impacts on the ground Tips for getting started, connecting to the local community, and scaling up. In the Business of Change is for everyone who wants to rebuild their communities and believes that business can be a powerful, positive force for change.
Secrets to a Successful Startup: A Recession-Proof Guide to Starting, Surviving and Thriving in Your Own Venture
by
Trevor Blake built three successful startups and sold them for more than $300 million. Now he's written a complete instruction manual that covers everything the budding entrepreneur or existing business owner needs to know to build the career or business of their dreams. Unlike the many theoretical guides out there, this is a practical handbook based on Blake's wildly successful in-the-trenches experience. It incorporates leading-edge strategies that cover every aspect of running a business -- including funding, developing systems, and marketing. Blake presents in-depth insight into managing effectively, maintaining cash flow, and adapting to the changing needs of customers in volatile economic times. One of his most innovative contributions is an emphasis on cultivating the right mindset, and he tells you exactly how to do that. "The secret to success isn't in the plan," he writes. "It's in the person holding it." His proven methods will give you the confidence to take the entrepreneurial leap and turn your winning idea into an efficient, profitable company.
The Startup Checklist: 25 Steps to a Scalable, High-Growth Business
by
The Startup Checklist is the entrepreneur's essential companion. While most entrepreneurship books focus on strategy, this invaluable guide provides the concrete steps that will get your new business off to a strong start. You'll learn the ins and outs of startup execution, management, legal issues, and practical processes throughout the launch and growth phases, and how to avoid the critical missteps that threaten the foundation of your business. Instead of simply referring you to experts, this discussion shows you exactly which experts you need, what exactly you need them to do, and which tools you will use to support them--and you'll gain enough insight to ask smart questions that help you get your money's worth. If you're ready to do big things, this book has you covered from the first business card to the eventual exit. Over two thirds of startups are built on creaky foundations, and over two thirds of startup costs go directly toward cleaning up legal and practical problems caused by an incomplete or improper start. This book helps you sidestep the messy and expensive clean up process by giving you the specific actions you need to take right from the very beginning. Understand the critical intricacies of legally incorporating and running a startup Learn which experts you need, and what exactly you need from them Make more intelligent decisions independent of your advisors Avoid the challenges that threaten to derail great young companies The typical American startup costs over $30,000 and requires working with over two dozen professionals and service providers before it even opens for business--and the process is so complex that few founders do it correctly. Their startups errors often go unnoticed until the founder tries to seek outside capital, at which point they can cost thousands of dollars to fix. . . or even completely derail an investment. The Startup Checklist helps you avoid these problems and lay a strong foundation, so you can focus on building your business.
SYOB/Start Your Own Business: The Only Startup Book You'll Ever Need
by
In 2017 34% of the workforce was considered part of the gig economy. This growing workforce of freelancers and side-giggers is also estimated to grow to 43% by 2020. That's 4 million freelancers, soon to be 7 million by 2020. Whether it's people looking to earn extra money, those tired of their 9-to-5, to entrepreneurs looking to grow their side hustle, Entrepreneur is uniquely qualified to guide a new generation of bold individuals looking to live their best lives and make it happen on their own terms. Whatever industry or jobs this new workforce takes,Start Your Own Business will guide them through the first three years of business. They'll gain the know-how of more than 30 years of collective advice from those who've come before them to: How to avoid analysis paralysis when launching a business Tips for testing ideas in the real-world before going to market with insights from Gary Vaynerchuk Decide between building, buying, or becoming a distributor What to consider when looking for funding from venture capitalists, loans, cash advances, etc. Whether or not a co-working space is a right move Tips on running successful Facebook and Google ads as part of a marketing campaign Use micro-influencers to successfully promote your brand on social media
Steps to Small Business Start-Up: Everything You Need to Know to Turn Your Idea Into a Successful Business
by
A business classic that has been guiding new entrepreneurs through the process of launching their businesses for more than a quarter of a century, this book has now been revised to feature the most up-to-date information, forms, examples, and worksheets. It emphasizes all of the mechanics of the start-up, including choosing a business, legal structure, location, and DBAs. Additional chapters cover home-based business, proprietary rights, financing options, bookkeeping, and cash flow. Offering indispensable advice for marketing, Internet operation, and business planning, it is positioned to remain a favorite for business education by universities, colleges, technical schools, and small business development centers.
This is just a small selection of the books we have available. For more, try searching in OneSearch using the box on the left side of this page or contact us for assistance.
Become Your Own Boss in 12 Months: A Month-by-Month Guide to a Business that Works
by
Create a successful business this year! Written by America's #1 Small Business Expert, this essential handbook shows you how to launch your own business in just twelve months. Using her years of experience in business development, Melinda Emerson guides you through the process with step-by-step instructions for developing an effective marketing plan, setting a budget, and maintaining your business once it's up and running. She also offers brand-new strategies for obtaining financing through means like crowdsourcing as well as social media techniques that help build your business--all of which has been updated for today's market. With Emerson's expert business advice, you will finally follow your dreams and become your own boss!
Built, Not Born: A Self Made Billionaire's No-Nonsense Guide for Entrepreneurs
by
Tested and proven, no-nonsense advice on how to navigate risk and succeed in all phases of business ownership--written by Tom Golisano, self-made billionaire and founder of Paychex. "Tom Golisano understands what it takes grow and thrive as a business owner at all levels, and Built, Not Born is full of practical insights for those who have made or are considering making the leap to starting a new business." - Tom Monaghan, founder, Domino's Pizza Tom Golisano understands the fears, risks, and challenges small-business owners face every day--he's lived it. He has launched and grown his own highly successful businesses and mentored dozens of entrepreneurs, helping them build their own successful companies. Built, Not Born shows readers: How going against the grain can be a great strategy for finding business opportunities and why it pays to question conventional wisdom. Why the pregnant pause can be an effective weapon in negotiations and when interviewing potential employees. Why a prenuptial or even a postnuptial agreement is critical to any business owner. What potential buyers and funding sources look for, and the best way to present a business plan. And finally, the key growth and leadership strategies that have helped Paychex sustain its incredible level of growth and profitability.
Business Plan Template and Example: How to Write a Business Plan
by
This book will give you a fresh and innovative way to write a business plan that will help you: - Complete your business plan faster - Avoid confusion and frustration - Focus on the core of your business and create more effective business strategies To help you learn the business planning process from the ground up, this book gets you started with a very basic business plan and helps you expand it as you make your way through the book. This way, you have less confusion and frustration and are more likely to finish your business plan faster and have it be better. This way you get a business plan template together practical explanations and an example. So whatever your learning style might be, this book has a high chance of being effective for you. If business planning seems to you complex and scary, this book will make it simple for you. It is written in simple and clear language to help you get started and create a great business plan. So what are you waiting for? Get this book now, and start creating a great business plan for your business today. Also recently added in the last update of this book is a business plan sample since many people commented that they wanted a business plan example. Although for my taste as an entrepreneur, I rather give you lots of great business planning strategies and theory that you can use in the real world instead of having a business plan template or workbook to write your business plan from. After all, a business plan is just a document. But to make your business a success, you will have to do it in the real world. So when you try to figure out how to create a business plan, don't just focus on the business plan document. Instead, focus on a plan for the real world with actionable and effective strategies. Get the book now, and start planning your business today.
Female Entrepreneur's Playbook: Secret Strategies from 20+ Women for Building a Business You Love and Getting Paid for It
by
More women than ever are starting businesses -- yet so few are sharing how they do it. Why? Because being a successful female entrepreneur is hard work and comes with a unique set of challenges that many don't share.If you want to know what happens behind the scenes of a growing business, then this is your guide. If you want to create wealth, opportunities, and freedom in your business when we've got you covered. Whatever is holding you back from having the business of your dreams -- whether it's lack of experience, not knowing where to begin, money issues, or not understanding how to turn your purpose into profit -- this book shows you how other women have walked the path, faced challenges, and built a business that thrives.The Female Entrepreneur's Playbook will change how you think about your business as 20+ successful entrepreneurs reveal their secrets to building a business that complements and enhances their lifestyle. Inside, you'll learn: Why your hero's journey is an essential part of your brand and story. What to do if you need to generate revenue fast. How to avoid the biggest mistakes entrepreneurs make. Why failure often leads to success. What self-care routines help maintain physical, emotional, & mental health. Each chapter is written by a different female entrepreneur who gives candid and advice-fueled answers to empower women to lean into their zone of genius and create a business they love.
The Harvard Business Review Entrepreneur's Handbook: Everything You Need to Launch and Grow Your New Business
by
The one primer you need to develop your entrepreneurial skills. Whether you're imagining your new business to be the next big thing in Silicon Valley, a pivotal B2B provider, or an anchor in your local community, the HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook is your essential resource for getting your company off the ground. Starting an independent new business is rife with both opportunity and risk. And as an entrepreneur, you're the one in charge: your actions can make or break your business. You need to know the tried-and-true fundamentals--from writing a business plan to getting your first loan. You also need to know the latest thinking on how to create an irresistible pitch deck, mitigate risk through experimentation, and develop unique opportunities through business model innovation. The HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook addresses these challenges and more with practical advice and wisdom from Harvard Business Review's archive. Keep this comprehensive guide with you throughout your startup's life--and increase your business's odds for success. In the HBR Entrepreneur's Handbook you'll find: Step-by-step guidance through the entrepreneurial process Concise explanations of the latest research and thinking on entrepreneurship from Harvard Business Review contributors such as Marc Andreessen and Reid Hoffman Time-honed best practices Stories of real companies, from Airbnb to eBay You'll learn: Which skills and characteristics make for the best entrepreneurs How to gauge potential opportunities The basics of business models and competitive strategy How to test your assumptions--before you build a whole business How to select the right legal structure for your company How to navigate funding options, from venture capital and angel investors to accelerators and crowdfunding How to develop sales and marketing programs for your venture What entrepreneurial leaders must do to build culture and set direction as the business keeps growing
How to Write a Business Plan
by
You need a sound business plan to start a business or raise money to expand an existing one. For over 30 years, How to Write a Business Plan has helped fledgling entrepreneurs--from small service businesses and retailers to large manufacturing firms--write winning plans and get needed financing. This bestselling book contains clear step-by-step instructions and forms to put together a convincing business plan with realistic financial projections, effective marketing strategies, and overall business goals. You'll learn how to: figure out if your business idea will make money determine and forecast cash flow create profit and loss forecasts prepare marketing and personnel plans find potential sources of financing, and present your well-organized plan to lenders and other backers, and learn about best practices for raising money, from SBA loans to equity crowdfunding.
Starting a Business QuickStart Guide
by
Have you ever dreamt of starting your own business and living life on your terms? This book shows you EXACTLY what you need to know to stand out from the crowd! The most comprehensive guide ever developed for starting and growing a business! In the highly competitive world of business, what makes or breaks a new entrepreneur? Sourced from over twenty years of firsthand experience working with entrepreneurs, new ventures, and high-growth startups, author Ken Colwell, PHD, MBA has the answers. In his comprehensive Starting a Business QuickStart Guide, Ken Colwell concisely presents the core fundamentals that all new entrepreneurs need to know to get started, find success, and live the life of their dreams. Business and entrepreneurship students, small business owners, managers, and soon-to-be entrepreneurs will all find a wealth of value within the pages of the Starting a Business QuickStart Guide. From the very first steps conceptualizing your venture to winning your first customers, delivering value, and turning a profit, this book acts as an invaluable blueprint for your path to entrepreneurial success. Colwell's clear voice, extensive experience, and easy-to-understand presentation come together to make this book a must-have resource in the library of every budding entrepreneur!
SYOB/Start Your Own Business: The Only Startup Book You'll Ever Need
by
In 2017 34% of the workforce was considered part of the gig economy. This growing workforce of freelancers and side-giggers is also estimated to grow to 43% by 2020. That's 4 million freelancers, soon to be 7 million by 2020. Whether it's people looking to earn extra money, those tired of their 9-to-5, or entrepreneurs looking to grow their side hustle, Entrepreneur is uniquely qualified to guide a new generation of bold individuals looking to live their best lives and make it happen on their own terms. Whatever industry or jobs this new workforce takes,Start Your Own Business will guide them through the first three years of business. They'll gain the know-how of more than 30 years of collective advice from those who've come before them to: Avoid analysis paralysis when launching a business Test ideas in the real world before going to market with insights from Gary Vaynerchuk Decide between building, buying, or becoming a distributor Know what to consider when looking for funding from venture capitalists, loans, cash advances, etc. Decide if a coworking space is the right move Get tips on running successful Facebook and Google ads as part of a marketing campaign Use micro-influencers to successfully promote your brand on social media
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.
