Research Guides: Dental Studies Research Guide: Websites

Evaluating Websites & Other Sources

It is important to evaluate information gathered from websites. The Evaluating Online Sources guide shows you how.

The following sites provide tips for evaluating health-related information found on the Internet:

Evaluating Health Information
This site from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) contains links to tutorials on finding and evaluating health information, plus other tips to help you determine if a source is reliable.

See the Patient Education Resources box for links to access additional professional dental association websites.

These product sites provide some patient education information as well as continuing education (CE) courses:

Dental Medications
This article from RxList.com provides an introduction to dental medications, including those used to control pain and anxiety, treat dental infections, and information on analgesics, anesthetics, antibiotics, and other dental medications.
DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions. Prescription and over-the-counter medication information is from AHFS® Consumer Medication Information.
RxList - The Internet Drug Index
This site has information about prescription and non-prescription drugs, herbs, and supplements, searchable by generic and brand name. It also has a pill identifier tool, information and slide shows about diseases and health topics, and a medical dictionary.