3D Printing for Dummies
by
Android Programming: Pushing the Limits
by
Arduino Essentials
by
If you are a hobbyist who wants to develop projects based on Arduino as the main microcontroller platform or an engineer interested in finding out what the Arduino platform offers, then this book is ideal for you. Some prior knowledge of the C programming language is required.
CCSP (ISC)2 Certified Cloud Security Professional
by
The only official study guide for the new CCSP exam CCSP (ISC)2 Certified Cloud Security Professional Official Study Guide is your ultimate resource for the CCSP exam. As the only official study guide reviewed and endorsed by (ISC)2, this guide helps you prepare faster and smarter with the Sybex study tools that include pre-test assessments that show you what you know, and areas you need further review. Objective maps, exercises, and chapter review questions help you gauge your progress along the way, and the Sybex interactive online learning environment includes access to a PDF glossary, hundreds of flashcards, and two complete practice exams. Covering all CCSP domains, this book walks you through Architectural Concepts and Design Requirements, Cloud Data Security, Cloud Platform and Infrastructure Security, Cloud Application Security, Operations, and Legal and Compliance with real-world scenarios to help you apply your skills along the way. The CCSP is the latest credential from (ISC)2 and the Cloud Security Alliance, designed to show employers that you have what it takes to keep their organization safe in the cloud. Learn the skills you need to be confident on exam day and beyond. Review 100% of all CCSP exam objectives Practice applying essential concepts and skills Access the industry-leading online study tool set Test your knowledge with bonus practice exams and more As organizations become increasingly reliant on cloud-based IT, the threat to data security looms larger. Employers are seeking qualified professionals with a proven cloud security skillset, and the CCSP credential brings your resume to the top of the pile. CCSP (ISC)2 Certified Cloud Security Professional Official Study Guide gives you the tools and information you need to earn that certification, and apply your skills in a real-world setting.
Coding All-In-One for Dummies
by
See all the things coding can accomplish The demand for people with coding know-how exceeds the number of people who understand the languages that power technology. Coding All-in-One For Dummies gives you an ideal place to start when you're ready to add this valuable asset to your professional repertoire. Whether you need to learn how coding works to build a web page or an application or see how coding drives the data revolution, this resource introduces the languages and processes you'll need to know. Peek inside to quickly learn the basics of simple web languages, then move on to start thinking like a professional coder and using languages that power big applications. Take a look inside for the steps to get started with updating a website, creating the next great mobile app, or exploring the world of data science. Whether you're looking for a complete beginner's guide or a trusted resource for when you encounter problems with coding, there's something for you! Create code for the web Get the tools to create a mobile app Discover languages that power data science See the future of coding with machine learning tools With the demand for skilled coders at an all-time high, Coding All-in-One For Dummies is here to propel coding newbies to the ranks of professional programmers.
Comptia A+ Practice Tests
by
Bring your A game to the CompTIA A+ Certification exam Practice tests are an excellent way for certification candidates to prepare for taking exams, and the well-crafted questions and detailed answers you'll find inside will help give you the confidence to succeed on exam day. With 100% coverage of Exam 220-901 and Exam 220-902 objectives from hardware and networking to mobile devices and Windows operating systems, CompTIA A+ Practice Tests help you gauge your readiness ? and hone your test-taking strategy ? well in advance of exam day. Designed to measure a candidate's competency with various hardware components and software operating systems, the A+ certification is the most popular entry-level IT certification around. CompTIA A+ Practice Tests provides nine unique practice tests totaling 1,020 questions that cover the nine CompTIA A+ objective domains you'll encounter in Exam 220-901 and Exam 220-902. Plus, the book includes two additional 90-question practice exams (180 questions total). That's 1,200 practice test questions in all! You will also gain access to the Sybex interactive learning environment where you have access to all questions, and can create your own practice tests based on areas where further review is needed. Practice questions provide comprehensive coverage of the exam objectives An excellent study companion for anyone renewing their certification or taking it for the first time The 1,200 practice questions are organized into nine full-length tests Complements the CompTIA A+ Complete Study Guide Practice tests are among the most effective exam prep tools, practice with Sybex so you can be confident on exam day.
The Digital Dialectic
by
This text takes an interdisciplinary approach to visual and intellectual cultures as the computer recodes technologies, media and art forms. It includes contributions by scholars, artists and entrepreneurs who combine theoretical investigations with hands-on analysis of the possibilities (and limitations) of new technology. The key concept is the digital dialectic: a method to ground the insights of theory in the constraints of practice.
Java for Dummies
by
A new edition of the bestselling guide to Java If you want to learn to speak the world's most popular programming language like a native, Java For Dummies is your ideal companion. With a focus on reusing existing code, it quickly and easily shows you how to create basic Java objects, work with Java classes and methods, understand the value of variables, learn to control program flow with loops or decision-making statements, and so much more! Java is everywhere, runs on almost any computer, and is the engine that drives the coolest applications. Written for anyone who's ever wanted to tackle programming with Java but never knew quite where to begin, this bestselling guide is your ticket to success! Featuring updates on everything you'll encounter in Java 9--and brimming with tons of step-by-step instruction--it's the perfect resource to get you up and running with Java in a jiffy! Discover the latest features and tools in Java 9 Learn to combine several smaller programs to create a bigger program Create basic Java objects and reuse code Confidently handle exceptions and events If you're ready to jump into Java, this bestselling guide will help keep your head above water!
Linux Essentials
by
Learn Linux, and take your career to the next level! Linux Essentials, 2nd Edition provides a solid foundation of knowledge for anyone considering a career in information technology, for anyone new to the Linux operating system, and for anyone who is preparing to sit for the Linux Essentials Exam. Through this engaging resource, you can access key information in a learning-by-doing style. Hands-on tutorials and end-of-chapter exercises and review questions lead you in both learning and applying new information'information that will help you achieve your goals! With the experience provided in this compelling reference, you can sit down for the Linux Essentials Exam with confidence. An open source operating system, Linux is a UNIX-based platform that is freely updated by developers. The nature of its development means that Linux is a low-cost and secure alternative to other operating systems, and is used in many different IT environments. Passing the Linux Essentials Exam prepares you to apply your knowledge regarding this operating system within the workforce. Access lessons that are organized by task, allowing you to quickly identify the topics you are looking for and navigate the comprehensive information presented by the book Discover the basics of the Linux operating system, including distributions, types of open source applications, freeware, licensing, operations, navigation, and more Explore command functions, including navigating the command line, turning commands into scripts, and more Identify and create user types, users, and groups Linux Essentials, 2nd Edition is a critical resource for anyone starting a career in IT or anyone new to the Linux operating system.
Linux Utilities Cookbook
by
Power Pivot and Power Bi
by
Microsoft PowerPivot is a free add-on to Excel from Microsoft that allows users to produce new kinds of reports and analyses that were simply impossible before, and this book is the first to tackle DAX formulas, the core capability of PowerPivot, from the perspective of the Excel audience. Written by the world's foremost PowerPivot blogger and practitioner, the book's concepts and approach are introduced in a simple, step-by-step manner tailored to the learning style of Excel users everywhere. The techniques presented allow users to produce, in hours or even minutes, results that formerly would have taken entire teams weeks or months to produce. It includes lessons on the difference between calculated columns and measures; how formulas can be reused across reports of completely different shapes; how to merge disjointed sets of data into unified reports; how to make certain columns in a pivot behave as if the pivot were filtered while other columns do not; and how to create time-intelligent calculations in pivot tables such as Year over Year and Moving Averages whether they use a standard, fiscal, or a complete custom calendar. The pattern-like techniques and best practices contained in this book have been developed and refined over two years of onsite training with Excel users around the world, and the key lessons from those seminars costing thousands of dollars per day are now available to within the pages of this easy-to-follow guide. This updated second edition cover new features introduced with Office 2015.
CompTIA Network+ All-In-One Exam Guide
by
From Mike Meyers, the #1 name in CompTIA training and exam preparation, a thorough revision of his bestselling exam guide--updated to cover the 2015 release of the CompTIA Network+ exam. Get complete coverage of all the CompTIA Network+ exam objectives inside this comprehensive resource. Written by the leading expert on CompTIA certification and training, Mike Meyers, this authoritative guide covers exam N10-006 in full detail. You'll find learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, exam tips, scenarios, practice exam questions, and in-depth explanations. Designed to help you pass the exam with ease, this definitive volume also serves as an essential on-the-job reference. Also includes an offer for a 10% discount on your exam voucher! CompTIA Network+ Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Sixth Edition covers all exam topics, including: Network architectures Cabling and topology Ethernet basics Network installation TCP/IP applications and network protocols Routing Network naming Advanced networking devices IPv6 Remote connectivity Wireless networking Virtualization and cloud computing Network operations Managing risk Network security Network monitoring and troubleshooting Electronic content includes: 100+ practice exam questions in a customizable test engine available for download 20+ lab simulations online to help you prepare for the performance-based questions One hour of online video training from Mike Meyers A link to Mike's favorite shareware and freeware networking tools and utilities PDF copy of the book
Computer
by
The pixelated rectangle we spend most of our day staring at in silence is not the television as many long feared, but the computer--the ubiquitous portal of work and personal lives. At this point, the computer is almost so common we don't notice it in our view. It's difficult to envision that not that long ago it was a gigantic, room-sized structure only to be accessed by a few inspiring as much awe and respect as fear and mystery. Now that the machine has decreased in size and increased in popular use, the computer has become a prosaic appliance, little-more noted than a toaster. These dramatic changes, from the daunting to the ordinary, are captured in Computer by design historian Paul Atkinson. Here, Atkinson chronicles the changes in physical design of the computer and shows how these changes in design are related to changes in popular attitude. Atkinson is fascinated by how the computer has been represented and promoted in advertising. For example, in contrast to ads from the 1970s and 80s, today's PC is very PC--genderless, and largely status free. Computer also considers the role of the computer as a cultural touchstone, as evidenced by its regular appearance in popular culture, including the iconography of the space age, HAL from 2001: A Space Odyssey, James Bond's gadgetry, and Stars War and Star Trek. Computer covers many issues ignored by other histories of computing, which have focused on technology and the economics involved in their production, but rarely on the role of fashion in the physical design and promotion of computers and their general reception. The book will appeal to professionals and students of design and technology as well as those interested in the history of computers and how they have shaped--and been shaped by--our lives.
The Computer: A Very Short Introduction
by
Computers have changed so much since the room-filling, bulky magnetic tape running monsters of the mid 20th century. They now form a vital part of most people's lives. And they are more ubiquitous than might be thought - you may have more than 30 computers in your home: not just the desktop and laptop but think of the television, the fridge, the microwave. But what is the basic nature of the modern computer? How does it work? How has it been possible to squeeze so much power into increasingly small machines? And what will the next generations of computers look like?In this Very Short Introduction, Darrel Ince looks at the basic concepts behind all computers; the changes in hardware and software that allowed computers to become so small and commonplace; the challenges produced by the computer revolution - especially whole new modes of cybercrime and security issues; the Internet and the advent of "cloud computing"; and the promise of whole new horizons opening up with quantum computing, and even computing using DNA.
CSS: The Definitive Guide
by
If you're a web designer or app developer interested in sophisticated page styling, improved accessibility, and saving time and effort, this book is for you. This revised edition provides a comprehensive guide to CSS implementation, along with a thorough review of the latest CSS specifications. CSS is a constantly evolving language for describing the presentation of web content on screen, printers, speech synthesizers, screen readers, and chat windows. It is used by all browsers on all screen sizes on all types of IoT devices, including phones, computers, video games, televisions, watches, kiosks, and auto consoles. Authors Eric Meyer and Estelle Weyl show you how to improve user experience, speed development, avoid potential bugs, and add life and depth to your applications through layout, transitions and animations, borders, backgrounds, text properties, and many other tools and techniques. This guide covers: Selectors, specificity, and the cascade Values, units, fonts, and text properties Padding, borders, outlines, and margins Colors, backgrounds, and gradients Floats and positioning tricks Flexible box layout The new Grid layout system 2D and 3D transforms, transitions, and animation Filters, blending, clipping, and masking Media and feature queries
Java: The Complete Reference
by
Fully updated for Java SE 9, Java: The Complete Reference, Tenth Edition explains how to develop, compile, debug, and run Java programs. Bestselling programming author Herb Schildt covers the entire Java language, including its syntax, keywords, and fundamental programming principles. You'll also find information on key portions of the Java API library, such as I/O, the Collections Framework, the stream library, and the concurrency utilities. Swing, JavaFX, JavaBeans, and servlets are examined and numerous examples demonstrate Java in action. Of course, the new module system added by Java SE 9 is discussed in detail. This Oracle Press resource also offers an introduction to JShell, Java's new interactive programming tool. Coverage includes: *Data types, variables, arrays, and operators *Control statements *Classes, objects, and methods *Method overloading and overriding *Inheritance *Interfaces and packages *Exception handling *Multithreaded programming *Enumerations, autoboxing, and annotations *The I/O classes *Generics *Lambda expressions *Modules *String handling *The Collections Framework *Networking *Event handling *AWT *Swing and JavaFX *The Concurrent API *The Stream API *Regular expressions *JavaBeans *Servlets *Much, much more Code examples in the book are available for download at www.OraclePressBooks.com. TAG: For a complete list of Oracle Press titles, visit www.OraclePressBooks.com.
Linux Bible
by
The industry favorite Linux guide, updated for Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 and the cloud Linux Bible, 9th Edition is the ultimate hands-on Linux user guide, whether you're a true beginner or a more advanced user navigating recent changes. This updated ninth edition covers the latest versions of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7 (RHEL 7), Fedora 21, and Ubuntu 14.04 LTS, and includes new information on cloud computing and development with guidance on Openstack and Cloudforms. With a focus on RHEL 7, this practical guide gets you up to speed quickly on the new enhancements for enterprise-quality file systems, the new boot process and services management, firewalld, and the GNOME 3 desktop. Written by a Red Hat expert, this book provides the clear explanations and step-by-step instructions that demystify Linux and bring the new features seamlessly into your workflow. This useful guide assumes a base of little or no Linux knowledge, and takes you step by step through what you need to know to get the job done. Get Linux up and running quickly Master basic operations and tackle more advanced tasks Get up to date on the recent changes to Linux server system management Bring Linux to the cloud using Openstack and Cloudforms Linux Bible, 9th Edition is the one resource you need, and provides the hands-on training that gets you on track in a flash.
Microsoft PowerPoint 2016 Step by Step
by
This is learning made easy. Students will get productive fast with PowerPoint 2016 and jump in wherever they need answers--brisk lessons and colorful screen shots show them exactly what to do, step by step.
Think Python
by
If you want to learn how to program, working with Python is an excellent way to start. This hands-on guide takes you through the language a step at a time, beginning with basic programming concepts before moving on to functions, recursion, data structures, and object-oriented design. This second edition and its supporting code have been updated for Python 3. Through exercises in each chapter, you'll try out programming concepts as you learn them. Think Python is ideal for students at the high school or college level, as well as self-learners, home-schooled students, and professionals who need to learn programming basics. Beginners just getting their feet wet will learn how to start with Python in a browser. Start with the basics, including language syntax and semantics Get a clear definition of each programming concept Learn about values, variables, statements, functions, and data structures in a logical progression Discover how to work with files and databases Understand objects, methods, and object-oriented programming Use debugging techniques to fix syntax, runtime, and semantic errors Explore interface design, data structures, and GUI-based programs through case studies
The MCC Libraries' books are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification system.
Want to browse the shelves?
The Library of Congress classification for Science is Subclass Q.
QA is Mathematics.
QA75.5 - QA76.95 is Computer science.
The Library of Congress classification for Science is Subclass T.
TK is Electronics.
TK5101 - 6720 is Telecommunication.
TK7885 - 7895 is Computer engineering and Computer hardware.
TR845 - 899 is Cinematography and Motion pictures, which is where you will find computer animation books.
Browse for books within the computer sciences by going to to following call number areas.
| Call # | Topic |
|---|---|
| QA 75.7 - 76.95 | Computer science |
| QA 76.25 | Careers in computers |
| QA 76.75 - 76.765 | Computer software |
| TK 5105.5 - 5105.9 | Computer networks |
| TK 5105.875 | Internet services |
| TK 5105.888 | Web authoring software |
| TK 7885 - 7895 | Computer engineering & Computer hardware |
| TR 897.7 | Computer animation |
| Z 253.5 | Desktop publishing software |
To find more information about the computer sciences, you can use the following subject headings. Search these by going to the library catalog and typing in the subject heading.
Examples of General Subject Headings
Examples of Programming Subject Headings
Examples of Software Subject Headings
Finding Additional Subject Headings
These are only a select sample of subject headings in the area of computer science. For more specific topics, try combining keywords in the Advanced Search option in the library catalog and/or the library's databases. When you find a result you like, click on the title to view the full record. There you will find other subject headings to explore.
Reading LC Call Numbers
This graphic shows how you will find books in order on the shelf.
Want more info? Check out our guide to call numbers.
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.