Research Guides: Information & Computer Technologies Research Guide: Web Resources

Online Reference

Babel: A Glossary of Computer Oriented Abbreviations and Acronyms
Covers computer-related abbreviations and acronyms. Alphabetically arranged but has no built-in search capability.
Catalog of Free Compilers and Interpreters
Links to freely available software for language tools, including compilers, compiler generators, interpreters, translators, important libraries, and assemblers.
Computer Desktop Encyclopedia
Contains more than 25,000 computing and information technology entries.
Computer Sciences
Reviews the history of computer science, discusses concepts, and profiles contributors in the field. Also explores the impact of computers on society, with examples in literature and film to illustrate and support trends. Includes illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, filmographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary. For general audiences.
FileInfo.com: The File Extensions Resource
Contains a searchable database of thousands of file extensions with detailed information about the associated file types. You can use FileInfo.com to look up information about unknown file types and find programs that open the files.
Hotscripts.com
A comprehensive Web directory of more than 41,000 web development and programming-related resources. Includes scripts for 16 programming languages, including ASP, C, C++, CFML, CGI, Flash, Java, JavaScript, Perl, PHP, Python, and XML. Also includes links to additional resources such as articles, tips, and tutorials.
The Language List
A list and description of all known computer programming languages.
National Technical Information Service (NTIS)
The largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information available. Provides access to nearly three million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
Online Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)
A computing dictionary. Includes definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, and history, in fact any of the vocabulary you might expect to find in a computer dictionary.
Web Developer's Professional Library
A combination of encyclopedia, magazine, and tutorials, with clear definitions and explanations, timely articles, and detailed tutorials on all aspects of web development.

Programming and Programming Languages

ADA Home
A web home for users and potential users of Ada. Includes the Ada 95 Reference Manual and the Ada Lovelace Tutorial.
Ada Information Clearinghouse
Run by the Ada Resource Association, whose principal mission is “to ensure continued success of Ada users and promote Ada use in the software industry.”
C# Station
A community site for people interested in applying .NET using the C# programming language gateway to resources for programming on Microsoft's .NET platform. Offers access to articles, recommended books, sample book chapters and discussion forums, links to other C# sites, and tutorials.
Computer Aided Instruction Project
Contains interactive tutorials for Java, MIPS assembly language, vector algebra for computer graphics, and other related topics.
Cplusplus Resources
Contains resources for the C++ programming language, including technical documents, source code, libraries, and discussion forums.
Intro to Programming Using Java
Free online textbook on introductory programming, which uses Java as the language of instruction. Directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java.
Microsoft.NET Developers
Free online resources for Microsoft .NET developers, aimed at beginners.
Object Oriented Programming Tutorial
An introduction to object-oriented programming that focuses on the basics, including objects, classes, and inheritance.

Courses and Tutorials

Algorithm and Data Structure Tutorials
This is an educational Website for data structures and algorithms. Tutorials cover sorting algorithms, linear and tree data structures, graph algorithms, and basic programming concepts. Tutorials are supplemented with illustrated examples and implementations in Java and C++.
Animations to Assist Learning Some Key Computer Science Topics
This site contains introductory computer science educational material. It is divided into 8 modules with lessons, animations, interactive components, and review questions: algorithms, artificial intelligence, data structures, machine architecture, number systems, operating systems, programming languages, and software engineering.
Basic Object-Oriented Concepts
This is a brief introduction to object orientation.
Codango
Codango contains reviews and guides for PHP, JSP, ASP, and ASP.NET. Resources include in-depth reviews, web applications, scripts, components, and tutorials.
The Computer Technology Documentation Project
The Computer Technology Documentation Project contains tutorials from computer basics to advanced topics. Tutorials include Windows, Linux, Web programming, HTML, XML, PHP, SQL, JavaScript, networking, security, servers, computer hardware, UML, and extreme programming.
EbookOffline
EBook Offline contains free computing references, computer science eBooks, online tutorials, free programming tools,webmasters tools, articles, computing FAQ and forums, IDE, free hosting providers, open source content management systems, computing articles and useful tips, and everything related to computer science and IT fields.
Google Code University
GCU provides courses and tutorials on current computing technologies at introductory through advanced levels. Topics include programming languages, web programming, web security, algorithms, Android, distributed systems, tools 101, and Google APIs & tools. All courses and materials are free.
Hypermedia Image Processing Reference (HIPR)
Developed at the University of Edinburgh, HIPR is a set of tutorials on image processing and machine vision, including information on a wide range of image processing operations.
InterOperability Laboratory: Knowledge Base: Tutorials
From the University of New Hampshire InterOperability Laboratory, this site contains tutorials on emerging technologies.
Khan Academy: Computer Science
Khan Academy offers several videos dealing with introductory programming using Python and other computer science topics.
MIT OpenCourseWare: Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Lecture notes, problem sets, and other course materials for graduate and undergraduate level classes are posted on this Massachusetts Institute of Technology website.
An Overview of Cryptography
This online introduction to cryptography covers the main types of encryption and their applications, trust models, and cryptographic algorithms.
Quantiki: Introductory Tutorials
Quantiki, a wiki on quantum information theory, offers several tutorials ranging from introductory to advanced levels.
Tutorialized
Tutorialized contains a free, comprehensive collection of tutorials for Photoshop and Flash, and other graphics software.
W3 Schools
W3 Schools contains an extensive set of tutorials for Web development. It includes in-depth tutorials on all the major technologies including HTML, XHTML, CSS, TCP/IP, XML, DTD, Schema, XForms, SOAP, WAP, JavaScript, VBScript, SQL, ASP, PHP, .NET, SVG, Flash, and many more. It also contains "quick" references, examples, quizzes, certification, quick starters, and validators.

Women and Technology

The Anita Borg Institute
The Anita Borg Institute seeks to increase the impact of women on all aspects of technology and increase the positive impact of technology on the world’s women. The website contains information on programs, research, resources, news, affiliations, and volunteer and job opportunities.
National Center for Women and Information Technology (NCWIT)
NCWIT is a group of corporations, academic institutions, government agencies, and nonprofits working to increase women's participation in technology and computing by helping employers recruit, retain, and advance women. The website contains informational resources; a listings of programs, campaigns, and alliances; and news and events.
The Ada Project (TAP)
Named in honor of Ada Lovelace, TAP is a clearinghouse for information and resources related to women in computing, serving as a collection of links to other online resources. TAP includes information on conferences, projects, news, publications, discussion groups and organizations, fellowships and grants, employment resources, notable women in computer science, and other electronically accessible sites. The goal of TAP is to provide a central location through which these resources can be "tapped."

General Websites

AI Topics
A large collection of information about applications of artificial intelligence. This site links to basic information as well as news, educational resources, reference materials, courses, forums, and career information.
Computer Science Bibliographies
Includes details about over three million journal papers and technical reports.
Computing Resource Repository (CoRR)
Provides a search engine that allows researchers to search, browse, and download papers from its online database.
Ethics in Computing
Includes many links to resources on ethics in computing. It covers basics, commerce, computer abuse, privacy, risks, social justice issues, and speech issues.
MSDN (Microsoft Developer Network)
Provides technical information, sample code, documentation, technical articles, and reference guides for developers using Microsoft tools, products, and technologies. It also contains standards and release information, samples, downloads, and tutorials.
NetHistory
A portal to resources on the history of the Internet.
Programming Language Research
A collection of information and resources for research in programming language theory, design, implementation, and related areas.