Since 1969 The American Journal of Nursing, in service of its mission to “promote excellence in nursing and health care,” has published a list of the best nursing books of that year.
Each year, first, second and third place winners are chosen across 20 different categories of awards, such as: Advanced Practice Nursing, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Health Care Administration, Maternal-Child/Neonatal Nursing, Medical-Surgical Nursing, Public and Population Health, and more!
The books listed on this page are award winning titles MCC Nursing Department faculty have selected to purchase for MCC Libraries collection.
Creating Change: a past-focused treatment for trauma and addiction
by
Winner (First Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing Category This flexible, evidence-based manual offers counselors a gentle, compassionate approach to help people with trauma, addiction, or both explore their past. Creating Change guides clients to understand how trauma and addiction arose over time, grieve losses and regrets, create a new perspective on their life story, and take pride in their survival. The manual has 23 topics that can be implemented in any order with individuals or groups. Topics include Relationship Patterns, Break the Silence, Deepen Your Story, Darkness and Light, Emotions and Healing, and Influences: Family, Community, Culture. Creating Change can be implemented with any other treatment, including the author's present-focused model, Seeking Safety. The book has a convenient large-size format and includes 70 reproducible handouts, many of which can be downloaded and printed at the companion website. See also Seeking Safety: A Treatment Manual for PTSD and Substance Abuse, and the self-help guide Finding Your Best Self, Revised Edition: Recovery from Addiction, Trauma, or Both, an ideal client recommendation.
Davis Advantage for Wilkinson's Fundamentals of Nursing: : theory, concepts, and applications Creator Treas, Leslie S., author.
by
Growing into professional nursing : an approach to confident practice
by
This book is designed to help nursing students in their understanding of the role of the nurse and what it takes to successfully become a confident novice caregiver. It fills a gap in introductory nursing titles in that it welcomes the student into practice while providing realistic views of the complexities of the role.
The Handbook of LGBTQIA-Inclusive Hospice and Palliative Care
by
First place winner, 2024 American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award in Palliative Care and Hospice Hospice and palliative care professionals are experts at caring for individuals and families experiencing serious or life-limiting illnesses. Not everyone feels safe seeking out their expertise, however: LGBTQIA+ people may be deterred from seeking support because of barriers--both overt and subtle--that hospice and palliative care programs and professionals erect through their policies and practices. This book is an accessible, expert guide to incorporating LGBTQIA-inclusive practices into end-of-life care. It equips both new and experienced hospice and palliative care professionals with the knowledge they need to ensure that all people receive high-quality care. Kimberly D. Acquaviva surveys fundamental concepts and the latest clinical developments, integrating relatable anecdotes and poignant personal reflections. She discusses her own experience caring for her wife, Kathy, who was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in 2019. Unable to find a local hospice with an LGBTQIA-inclusive nondiscrimination statement, let alone one whose staff had been trained to provide nondiscriminatory care to LGBTQIA+ people, Kathy died at home six months later without hospice care. Acquaviva offers clear, actionable strategies for palliative care and hospice physicians, physician associates, advanced-practice registered nurses, registered nurses, social workers, counselors, chaplains, and others. She also emphasizes how incorporating LGBTQIA-inclusive practices can transform work with every person receiving care. Anchored in the evidence and written in plain language, this book is the definitive guide for hospice and palliative care professionals seeking to deliver exceptional care to all the patients and families they serve.
Interprofessional Collaboration and Teams in Public and Community Health
by
Effective healthcare delivery requires teams and teamwork in all types of settings. Interprofessional Collaboration and Teams in Public and Community Health examines the use of teams and implications for public and community health to ensure effective services and support coordination, collaboration, and communication during planning, implementation, and evaluation of these services. The guide discusses the development and characteristics of teams, describes team leader and team member roles and responsibilities, and provides readers with real-world examples of teams and teamwork in public and community health services. Readers learn that effective interprofessional collaboration requires engagement from many stakeholders, including individual healthcare providers and healthcare organizations, with an emphasis on teams of providers that include input from health profession education, communities and government, insurers, health policy, health research, and consumers. As is true for all types of healthcare services, the book posits that the additional consideration of social determinants of health, equity, diversity and disparities, population health, and vulnerable populations is crucial for effective teamwork within the discipline. Interprofessional Collaboration and Teams in Public and Community Health is part of the Cognella Series on Public and Community Health Nursing, a collection of concise, informative guides that explore critical topical areas, their nursing application, and their relationship to nursing practice.
Mexican American Health: Historical, Social, and Cultural Perspectives
by
"Mexican American Health: Historical, Social, and Cultural Perspectives helps readers better understand the multifaceted aspects that influence health disparities and inequities confronted by Mexican Americans today. It departs from traditional medical models, introducing readers to a broader, in-depth analysis that considers historical, geopolitical, sociocultural, and economic dimensions of health. The book delves into theories and models pertinent to Mexican American health, including the examination of social determinants of health, cultural determinants, and theories of health inequalities applicable to Mexican Americans such as the Internal Colonial Model and Critical Race Theory. It also offers an analysis of 'upstream' factors that underlie these inequalities, including epigenetics and social epigenetics, which play a role in the intergenerational transmission of health and disease."
Teaching in Nursing: a guide for faculty
by
**American Journal of Nursing (AJN) Book of the Year Awards, 1st Place in Nursing Education/Professional Development, 2024** **Selected for Doody''s Core Titles® 2024 in Education** Now in its 25th-anniversary edition, Billings and Halstead''s Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty, 7th Edition prepares you for the day-to-day challenges of teaching future nurses for practice in today''s rapidly evolving healthcare system. This comprehensive resource covers all four components of nursing education: teaching and learning, curriculum, evaluation, and technology-empowered learning. You''ll benefit from the expert guidance on such key issues as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, advances in technology and information, global health and curricular experiences, the flipped classroom, interprofessional education, and interprofessional collaborative practice. New to the 7th edition is a full-color design for improved learning and reference; increased use of illustrations, tables, and boxes to promote learning through enhanced usability; updated content throughout to reflect the latest trends in nursing education, including up-to-date content on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam; expanded use of high-quality case studies throughout the book; chapter-ending key points; new practice questions for nurse educator certification on a companion Evolve website; and much more! UNIQUE! Chapter on Global Health and Curricular Experiences focuses on internationalization of the nursing curriculum, with an emphasis on leading international learning experiences; policies, procedures, and guidelines for overseas study; and global and health competencies for health professions programs. Coverage of concept-based curricula includes strategies on how to approach and implement concept-based instruction. Pedagogical aids include Reflecting on the Evidence boxes, covering such issues as how to do evidence-based teaching; applications of evidence-based teaching; implications for faculty development, administration, and the institution; and how to use the open-ended application questions at the end of each chapter for faculty-guided discussion. Strategies to promote clinical judgment and active learning are incorporated throughout the text, highlighting various evaluation techniques, lesson planning insights, and tips for developing examinations. Guidance on teaching in diverse settings addresses such topics as the models of clinical teaching, teaching in interdisciplinary settings, how to evaluate students in the clinical setting, and how to adapt teaching for community-based practice. Strong emphasis on teaching clinical judgment, new models of clinical education, and responding to needs for creating inclusive multicultural teaching-learning environments. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based guidelines for best practices in teaching and learning. NEW! Expanded use of high-quality case studies (two per chapter on average) serves to model sound judgment for beginning nurse educators. UNIQUE! Full-color design and expanded use of illustrations, tables, and boxes improves accessibility and promotes learning through improved visual appeal. NEW! Updated content reflects changes in nursing education related to the global COVID-19 pandemic, including the shift to online learning, increased reliance on virtual experiences in lieu of face-to-face clinical experiences, and more. NEW! Updated content includes guidance on preparing students for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Examination, which represents the most significant revision in the licensure exam since the rollout of alternate-format questions. NEW! Chapter-ending key points serve as a helpful review and nurse education certification study aid. NEW and UNIQUE! Practice questions for nurse educator certification on the Evolve companion website expand the book''s utility as a nurse educator certification review resource.
Varney's Midwifery
by
The Gold Standard in Midwifery EducationAwarded second place in the 2024 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Adult Primary Care AND Maternal-Child/Neonatal Nursing categories!Varney's Midwifery continues to be the gold standard for midwifery practice in an updated seventh edition. New lead editors assembled a team of expert contributors and authors to continue the legacy of Varney's Midwifery as the trusted, must-have resource for students, professional midwives, and women's health practitioners.Varney's Midwifery uses current evidence-based guidelines to address the care of individuals throughout the lifespan, including primary care, gynecology, maternity care in a variety of settings, and newborn care. The Seventh Edition reflects the new ACNM Core Competencies for Basic Midwifery Practice published in 2020, including care of transgender individuals and abortion-related care. It also provides updated information on promotion of health equity, new techniques for fetal screening, diagnosis across the lifespan, and chronic conditions in pregnancy. NEW chapters cover Sexuality (Chapter 9), Gender-Affirming Care (Chapter 13), and Early Pregnancy Loss and Abortion Care (Chapter 22).Reflects the new ACNM Core Competencies, including care of transgender individuals and abortion-related care.Chapter appendices present essential skills that are core components of midwifery practice, including insertion of contraceptive devices, hand maneuvers for birth, management of a fetus in a breech presentation, and steps for managing postpartum hemorrhage.Every new print copy includes access to the Navigate eBook.Instructor resources include Slides in PowerPoint format, Case Studies, and Test Bank. This bestselling book is the perfect resource for use across the midwifery curriculum, women's health courses, and for health professional courses as a supplementary reference.Women's Health / GynecologyPrimary Care of WomenIntrapartum/Postpartum Care of Women/newborn careStandards for the Practice of MidwiferyReproductive Healthcare for WomenPrimary Women's Healthcare Across the LifespanMaternal and Well Child Care for Family Nurse Practitioners © 2025 | 1300 pages
Williams' Essentials of Nutrition and Diet Therapy
by
**American Journal of Nursing (AJN) Book of the Year Awards, 3rd Place in Adult Primary Care, 2024** **Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Nutrition** Master the essentials of nutrition science and patient care with this concise text! Williams' Essentials of Nutrition and Diet Therapy, 13th Edition helps you understand and apply nutrition concepts in the treatment of disease, disease prevention, and life enhancement. The text is broken out into three parts: the basics of nutrients and the body, the life cycle and community nutrition, and clinical nutrition. Case studies help you determine nutritional interventions in treating both acute and chronic conditions. Written by nutrition specialists Joyce Gilbert and Eleanor D. Schlenker, this book includes the latest advances in research and evidence-based practice. Strong community focus includes robust coverage of health promotion, cultural competence, patient safety, lifespan, and public health issues. Person-centered approach helps you develop practical solutions to individual problems, based on the authors' personal research and clinical experience. MyPlate for Older Adults is included, as developed by nutrition scientists at Tufts University and the AARP Foundation, along with the Nestlé Mini Nutritional Assessment Scale. Health Promotion sections help you with nutrition education, stressing healthy lifestyle choices and prevention as the best medicine. Case studies provide opportunities for problem solving, allowing you to apply concepts to practical situations in nutrition care. Evidence-Based Practice boxes emphasize critical thinking and summarize current research findings. Focus on Culture boxes highlight cultural competence and the nutritional deficiencies, health problems, and appropriate interventions relating to different cultural, ethnic, racial, and age groups. Focus on Food Safety boxes alert you to food safety issues related to a particular nutrient, population group, or medical condition. Complementary and Alternative Medicine boxes offer uses, contraindications, and advantages/disadvantages of common types of herbs and supplements, and potential interactions with prescription or over-the-counter medications. Chapter summaries and review questions reinforce your understanding of key concepts and their application. Key terms are identified in the text and defined on the page to help reinforce critical concepts. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN)-style case studies apply concepts to realistic scenarios. NEW! Dietary Guidelines have been updated to the 2020-2025 edition with new illustrations. NEW! Coverage of the Healthy People initiative is updated to the 2030 national objectives. NEW! Revised guidelines for potassium and sodium fit the new recommendations for adequate intake of potassium and for sodium chronic disease risk reduction intake. NEW! Content on obesity is incorporated into the Energy Balance chapter. NEW! Updated content on nutrients is added. NEW! Updated references include many new and current works.
Adverse Childhood Experiences: The Neuroscience of Trauma, Resilience and Healing Throughout the Life Course
by
The entire world is in crisis with adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) and other lifetime trauma at an all-time high. This book is a valuable resource to promote optimal brain function for everyone, but especially for survivors of trauma who are particularly at risk throughout the life course. It is critical for healthcare providers, schoolteachers and administration, public safety professionals, foster and adoptive parents, employers and loved ones to understand the potential life-long consequences that ACEs can have in the lives of survivors. This book describes the complexities behind why behaviors occur if hurt people hurt themselves and others. The first half of this book addresses what can go wrong in the brain and body after trauma that potentially leads to life-long poor bio-behavioral health outcomes. The second half of this book addresses how the life-long poor bio-behavioral health outcomes can be prevented, mitigated or potentially reversed. This book is necessaryfor everyone who is interested in optimizing brain function, especially survivors of ACEs and other trauma throughout the life course who are at greater risk. The major focus of the book is on how to prevent long-term negative consequences of trauma and how to restore the brain, body, behavior and emotions. This book won four American Journal of Nursing (AJN) Book of the Year Awards. It was awarded 1st place in 3 categories (Community/ Home Health, Creative Works, and Psychiatric/ Mental Health) and 3rd place in the Consumer Health category. No book has ever won this many AJN awards since AJN first began acknowledging high-quality publications on nursing and healthcare topics in 1969.
Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education: Advanced Concepts, Trends, and Opportunities
by
In today's quickly changing healthcare environment, simulation has become an indispensable strategy for preparing nursing students to deliver optimal patient care. Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education: Advanced Concepts, Trends, and Opportunities, Second Edition, takes the use of simulations to the next level, exploring innovative teaching/learning methods, new clinical models, and up-to-date best practices for providing high-quality education. From the evolution of clinical simulations to the use of more virtual simulations, incorporation of important constructs such as the social determinants of health, and the use of simulations in nursing education and competency-based testing, this engaging resource continues to provide intermediate and advanced simulation users and advocates with critical considerations for advancing simulation in nursing education. The comprehensive updated second edition focuses on the latest trends and concepts in simulation pedagogy to help nurse educators confidently prepare for their role in developing, planning, implementing, evaluating, and conducting research for effective simulation programs.
Taking Action: Top 10 Priorities to Promote Health Equity and Well-Being
by
A nation cannot fully thrive until everyone--no matter who they are, where they live, or how much money they make--can live their healthiest possible life, and helping people live their healthiest life is and has always been the essential role of nurses. Nurses have a critical role to play in achieving the goal of health equity and addressing structural racism, but they need robust education, supportive work environments, and autonomy. With a unique combination of skills, knowledge, and dedication, nurses can help address health inequities and improve the health and well-being for all. Readers will be able to explore how nurses can work to reduce health disparities, promote equity, and address structural racism, while keeping costs at bay, utilizing technology, and maintaining patient and family-focused care into 2030. The newly released National Academy of Medicine report on the Future of Nursing 2020-2030 will provide the impetus and the backdrop for the important and timely topics explored in this book. The pandemic and racial injustices have laid bare the inequities of this country and what nurses have had to do to work in this environment. These are concepts for the nursing profession to address in a new and easy to digest format. The last edition took on the top ten issues of the nursing profession, some of which overlap with what this new edition will explore, but in no way addressed the new realities that nurses have found themselves working in over the last two years throughout this pandemic. The Power of Ten, 3rd Edition will illuminate the top 10 priorities through essays, action items, discussion points, and data. This broad exploration of topics positions nurses to boldly continue the conversation and set the stage for the future of nursing.
Toward Healthy Aging: Human Needs and Nursing Response
by
Provide holistic, compassionate nursing care for older adults! Based on evidence-based protocols, Toward Healthy Aging, 11th Edition helps you master gerontological nursing skills with an approach that focuses on health, wholeness, and the potential in aging. In promoting healthy aging, the text emphasizes caring and respect for the person. Special sections provide an honest look at the universal experience of aging. Written by gerontological nursing experts Theris A. Touhy and Kathleen F. Jett, this classic text helps you learn to apply scientific research, build critical thinking skills, and prepare for success on the NCLEX® exam and in clinical practice. Promoting Healthy Aging: Implications for Gerontological Nursing sections help you apply concepts to assessments and interventions. A Student Speaks and An Elder Speaks sections at the beginning of every chapter provide perspectives of older people and nursing students. Nursing Studies provide practice examples designed to assist you in assessment, planning, interventions, and outcomes to promote healthy aging. Learning objectives in every chapter introduce important content and define learning goals and expectations. Key concepts provide a concise review of the most important points found in each chapter. Critical Thinking Questions and Activities help you apply concepts and build clinical judgment skills. Safety Alerts emphasize QSEN competencies and safety issues related to care of older adults. Tips for Best Practice boxes summarize evidence-based nursing interventions for practice. Research Highlights boxes summarize important research studies in the field of gerontology Research Questions include suggestions and ideas for pursuing nursing research. Healthy People boxes reference the goals cited in Healthy People 2020. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style case studies at the end of chapters include questions to help you prepare for the NGN exam. NEW! Completely updated content helps you develop clinical judgment skills, identified by the NCSBN and the AACN as a key attribute of professional nursing. NEW! Updated topics include COPD guidelines, theories of aging, medication use and misuse, palliative care, wound care guidelines, genomic research, and LGBT family relationships and sexualty in older adults.
The Complete Family Guide to Dementia: everything you need to know to help your parent and yourself
by
If you are facing the unique challenges of caring for a parent with dementia, you are not alone. What do you do when your loved one so plainly needs assistance, but is confused, angry, or resistant to your help? Where can you find the vital information you need, when you need it? Journalist Thomas Harrison and leading geriatric psychiatrist Brent Forester show that you don't have to be a medical expert to be a good care provider in this authoritative guide. They explain the basics of dementia and offer effective strategies for coping with the medical, emotional, and financial toll. With the right skills, you can navigate changing family roles, communicate better with your parent, keep him or her safe, and manage difficult behaviors. Learn how to "care smarter, not harder"--and help your loved one maintain the best possible quality of life. Winner (Second Place)--American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Award, Consumer Health Category
Davis Advantage for Basic Nursing: thinking, doing, and caring
by
Awarded third place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Digital Products category. LEARN-APPLY-ASSESS Davis Advantage for Basic Nursing takes an all-new approachto RN Fundamentals education by offering a unique focus on the Learn-Apply-Assess continuum. This complete solution integrates an innovative textbook with online adaptive technology to make learning personal. Together, they create a seamless experience that tracks each student's progress and assesses their knowledge until they have mastered the concepts and are ready to apply them in class, clinical, and practice. A special code in the front of the book unlocks online Personalized Learning Plans and Quizzing for students and an interactive ebook version of the text. LEARN The Textbook Basic Nursing: Thinking, Doing, and Caring, 2nd Edition This student-focused text teaches students to "Think Like a Nurse" from the very first day, connecting the concepts students are learning in class to the real world in which they will practice. A consistent and concise organization along with a wealth of pedagogical features promote critical thinking and clinical decision making by emphasizing the Thinking, Doing, and Caring at the heart of professional practice they will do as nurses. In every chapter, they'll first explore the theoretical knowledge behind the concepts, principles, and rationales. Then, they'll study the practical knowledge involved in the processes; and finally, learn the skills and procedures. APPLY Online Personalized Learning Plans Personalized learning plans offer multiple paths to learning success. Students are assessed on their comprehension of key topics and then are given a plan to work through based on their strengths and weaknesses. Interactive case studies, video animations and dynamic activities engage students and bring the concepts to life to help drive mastery. Click here to read the white paper. ASSESS Online Personalized Quizzing Davis Edge's online quizzing platform uses NCLEX®-style questions for assessment and remediation. Its interactive, question-based format provides the practice students need to master course content and improve their scores on classroom exams through a series of personalized quizzes based on each student's performance.
Davis Advantage for Maternal-Child Nursing Care
by
LEARN-APPLY-ASSESS Davis Advantage for Maternal-Child Nursing Care combines an innovative text with an immersive online program that make this challenging but must-know content easier to master by making learning personal. Together, they create a seamless experience that tracks each student's progress and assesses their knowledge until they have mastered the concepts and are ready to apply them in class, clinical, and practice. An access code inside new, printed textbooks unlocks an ebook, as well as access to Davis Advantage. Or choose the all-digital Instant Access option, which includes the ebook and immediate access to Davis Advantage. TEXTBOOK Streamlined, redesigned, and revised by a new author team, the 3rd Edition of this AJN Book-of-the-Year Award winner offers the perfect balance of maternal and child nursing care with the right depth and breadth of coverage for students in today's maternity/pediatric courses. And, it's accompanied by six online bonus chapters covering the role of the nurse in promoting women's health. A unique emphasis on optimizing outcomes, evidence-based practice, and research supports the goal of caring for women, families, and children, not only in traditional hospital settings, but also wherever they live, work, study, or play. Clear, concise, and easy to follow, the content is organized around four major themes, holistic care, critical thinking, validating practice, and tools for care that help students to learn and apply the material. ONLINE (DAVIS ADVANTAGE) Using a unique and proven approach across a Learn-Apply-Assess continuum, Davis Advantage engages students and helps them make the connections to key topics. Whether teaching in-person or online, this complete, integrated solution aligns seamlessly with the textbook and equips instructors with actionable analytics to track students' progress, remediate where needed, and facilitate an active learning environment. LEARN--Personalized Learning The foundation of the Davis Advantage platform, Personalized Learning, immerses students in an online learning experience tailored to their needs. Students are assessed on their comprehension of key topics from the text, and then are guided through animated mini-lecture videos and dynamic activities to reinforce learning and bring concepts to life. APPLY--Clinical Judgment Clinical Judgment develops students' critical thinking and clinical reasoning, helping them to build the clinical judgment skills they need to practice safe and effective nursing care and to prepare for the Next Generation NCLEX® with confidence. Progressive case studies featuring real-life, complex clinical situations challenge students to apply knowledge, make informed decisions, and evaluate outcomes. ASSESS--Quizzing Quizzing uses NCLEX®-style questions for assessment and remediation. Its adaptive, question-based format provides the additional practice students need to test their knowledge, master course content, and perform well on course and board exams.
Fast Facts about Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Nursing: building competencies for an antiracism practice
by
Awarded third place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development Delivers a comprehensive toolbox for understanding race and racism at structural, institutional, and individual levels This nursing handbook introduces and defines key terms about race and racism for nurses, nursing students, and nurse educators. It addresses how race and racism act as structural and core social determinants of health and propel health inequities. It moves beyond a focus on multicultural approaches for understanding inequity toward a recognition of the broader impact that both systemic and structural racism have had on inequality in health and life opportunities. Through a social justice lens, the book underscores how nurses, as frontline health professionals, need to understand racism as a factor behind these inequities and its significance to their working environment and nursing practice. In concise chapters with brief paragraphs and bulleted information, this practical handbook offers strategies for how to productively engage in a dialogue about race and racism. It considers the history of racism in the United States and then breaks down how it operates at structural, institutional, and individual levels. Case studies illustrate such concepts as microaggressions, implicit bias, power, privilege, and intersectionality in order to foster understanding and provide opportunities for both self-reflection and collective conversation. Key Features: Delivers clear and easy-to-read content in concise, bulleted format Empowers nurses to initiate conversations about race and racism in the workplace and classroom with confidence and ease Provides an historical context for understanding how racism contributes to inequities in health and economic opportunities Illustrates concepts with case studies and reflection questions Features "Fast Facts" boxes that highlight essential information at a glance Promotes the concepts of antiracism, diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging
Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Competent and Inclusive Care
by
Awarded third place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Professional Issues Fills a crucial need in helping nurses to provide safe, culturally-competent care to LGBTQ+ patients This pivotal resource--the first written specifically for nurses--focuses on the unique health needs and inequities affecting LGBTQ+ patients and discusses how to provide them with safe, respectful, and holistic care. Written in an easy-access bulleted format with concise paragraphs, this book sets the stage by examining the background and history of the LGBTQ+ population and focusing on the health disparities that set them apart. It addresses the nursing implications and care of LGBTQ+ patients in all practice settings, highlighting transgender medical, surgical, and mental health. To help nurses create inclusive environments, chapters cover best practices and strategies for appropriate communication and define key terms nurses should know when obtaining patient history, performing an assessment, and delivering overall care. Fast Facts About LGBTQ+ Care delivers resources to help nurses create and sustain changes within their practice and beyond. A multitude of case studies demonstrate the importance of collecting gender identity in the electronic health record and span a variety of scenarios nurses are likely to encounter. Key Features: Fills a critical need in the nursing literature on providing safe and culturally competent care for LGBTQ+ patients Illuminates communication best practices and terminology to help nurses feel comfortable caring for LGBTQ+ patients Features "Fast Facts" boxes and abundant case studies that highlight essential information Covers developing and integrating LGBTQ+ content into nursing education Includes tips and guides to promote advocacy for the LBGTQ+ population
Health Equity and Disparities
by
Population health and vulnerable populations have an impact on the overall health status of communities and countries. This requires recognition that we have serious disparities in health delivery and outcomes that must be addressed in all healthcare settings. The nursing profession has acknowledged these facts through its recent standards and ethics; statements about racism, discrimination, health equity, and disparities; and strategies to improve population health. Designed to support current standards and goals for the nursing profession, Health Equity and Disparities provides students with a succinct yet vital exploration of health disparities, their impact on health systems, and the ways in which nursing professionals can promote more equitable health experiences. The text addresses a broad range of topics, including social determinants of health; social justice and economics; diversity and disparities; and health literacy. Readers learn about the promotion of diversity, inclusivity, and equity in nursing, as well as the impact of health and social policies on health equity and disparities. They are provided with strategies to improve and sustain greater levels of health equity through collaboration, partnerships, and transformative change. Health Equity and Disparities is part of the Cognella Series on Public and Community Health Nursing, a collection of concise, informative guides that explore critical topical areas, their nursing application, and their relationship to nursing practice.
Leadership Laboratory for Nurse Leaders
by
"Each chapter becomes a real time tool chest of relevant and tested approaches to effective leadership, interaction, and communion in a format that is timeless in its approach." --From the foreword by Tim Porter-O'Grady, Senior Partner, TPOG Associates, LLC Clinical Professor, Emory University, School of Nursing Leadership Laboratory for Nurse Leaders is an innovative and interactive workbook that challenges readers to reflect upon their personal experiences in learning how to lead through the lens of new and established ideas in the literature of nursing, psychology, education, sociology, and anthropology. Readers are guided through a series of laboratories, encouraged to consider real-world examples of leadership successes and challenges from peers, and prompted to experiment with new leadership strategies drawn from research. The workbook features seven chapter laboratories that explore crucial elements of emotional mastery for nurse leaders, including wisdom of experience, motivation, boundary clarity, self-regulation, generativity, change agility, and finding strength in adversity. Each chapter features critical research, invitations and prompts for reflection, experiments, and suggestions of new behaviors sourced from expert counsel. Each chapter provides readers with personal insights and hands-on tools. Leadership Laboratory for Nurse Leaders is designed to be used as both an individualized course in leadership as well as an ideal supplementary workbook for any course or program in nursing, especially those with an emphasis on developing professional leadership skills. Watch Barbara Mackoff talk about her book Leadership Laboratory for Nurse Leaders here.
Manual of Critical Care Nursing: interprofessional collaborative management
by
Compact, yet comprehensive, Manual of Critical Care Nursing: Interprofessional Collaborative Management, 8th Edition is the go-to reference for helping you provide safe, high-quality nursing care in critical care settings. Written in an abbreviated outline format, it presents essential information on more than 75 disorders and conditions, as well as concepts relevant to caring for critically ill patients and functioning in the critical care environment. Award-winning clinical nurse specialist Marianne Baird separates the content first by body system and then by disorder, with each disorder including a brief description of pathophysiology, assessment, diagnostic testing, collaborative management, nursing diagnoses, desired outcomes, nursing interventions, and patient teaching and rehabilitation. Coverage of more than 75 disorders most commonly seen in progressive and critical care settings equips you with all the content needed to handle problems in critical care nursing. Consistent, easy-to-use format mirrors a practicing nurse's approach to patient care and facilitates quick reference to vital information. Diagnostic Tests tables highlight the definition, purpose, and abnormal findings for each test. Gerontologic considerations and bariatric considerations are highlighted throughout to direct attention to patients with unique needs in critical care settings. NOC outcomes and NIC interventions apply standardized nursing taxonomies to the disorders and conditions most commonly encountered in progressive and critical care settings. Portable size makes it ideal for use on the unit or at the bedside. Safety Alert! and High Alert! boxes call attention to issues vital to patient safety.
Maternal Child Nursing Care
by
Master the essentials of maternity and pediatric nursing with this comprehensive, all-in-one text! Maternal Child Nursing Care, 7th Edition covers the issues and concerns of women during their childbearing years and children during their developing years. It uses a family-centered, problem-solving approach to patient care, with guidelines supported by evidence-based practice. New to this edition is an emphasis on clinical judgment skills and a new chapter on children with integumentary dysfunction. Written by a team of experts led by Shannon E. Perry and Marilyn J. Hockenberry, this book provides the accurate information you need to succeed in the classroom, the clinical setting, and on the Next Generation NCLEX-RN® examination. Focus on the family throughout the text emphasizes the influence of the entire family in health and illness. Expert authors of the market-leading maternity and pediatric nursing textbooks combine to ensure delivery of the most accurate, up-to-date content. Information on victims of sexual abuse as parents and human trafficking helps prepare students to handle these delicate issues. Nursing Alerts highlight critical information that could lead to deteriorating or emergency situations. Guidelines boxes outline nursing procedures in an easy-to-follow format. Evidence-Based Practice boxes include findings from recent clinical studies. Emergency Treatment boxes describe the signs and symptoms of emergency situations and provide step-by-step interventions. Atraumatic Care boxes teach students how to manage pain and provide competent care to pediatric patients with the least amount of physical or psychological stress. Community Focus boxes emphasize community issues, provide resources and guidance, and illustrate nursing care in a variety of settings. Patient Teaching boxes highlight important information nurses need to communicate to patients and families. Cultural Considerations boxes describe beliefs and practices relating to pregnancy, labor and birth, parenting, and women's health. Family-Centered Care boxes draw attention to the needs or concerns of families that students should consider to provide family-centered care. NEW and UPDATED! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style case studies and NGN exam-style unfolding case studies provide preparation for the NGN exam. NEW! Introduction of clinical judgment is included in the preface and in the text. NEW! COVID-19 and Zika virus content is added. NEW! New chapter on child with integumentary dysfunction provides the most up-to-date information. UPDATED clinical guidelines also include well-child care. UPDATED content includes topics such as resuscitation, contraception, breast cancer screening, and gestational diabetes. UPDATED LBGTQ+ coverage is expanded. EXPANDED! More content on spirituality is included in the family, culture, and spiritual chapters.
Nursing for Wellness in Older Adults
by
- Awarded first place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Award in Gerontologic Nursing Category - 4 Stars from Doody's Review Service. Cultivate confident, wellness-oriented care for older adults across a changing healthcare environment with the latest evidence-based coverage of gerontological nursing. Nursing for Wellness in Older Adults, 9th Edition; fosters students' understanding of both the physiologic and psychosocial aspects of aging, as well as common risk factors that may interfere with optimal health and functioning. Organized around the author's Functional Consequences Theory for Promoting Wellness in Older Adults and extensively updated to reflect current issues in gerontological practice, this trusted text equips students to work proactively with older adults to promote high levels of functioning and quality of life, despite limitations that may accompany aging, disease, and related conditions.
OB/GYN Peds Notes: nurse's clinical pocket guide
by
A Davis's Notes Title Perfect wherever you are...in class, in clinical, and in any practice setting! This handy guide delivers quick access to the essential clinical information you need to care for obstetric, gynecological, newborn, and pediatric patients in any setting. The 4th Edition of this popular pocket guide has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect nursing practice today. See what students and practitioners are saying online about the previous edition... Worth it. "Very good for clinical! Fits in pocket! Helps me on tests." A handy reference book! "A handy book for nurses just starting out in OBGYN! I have been a nurse for a year and just started working on a labor & delivery floor. I needed a little refresher from nursing school! This little book is handy to have if you want a quick reference book!" Best little study guide for OB/peds!!! "This little notebook is so great! Fits in my purse for on the go studying. It's great because it follows my lectures in the same order. I love this. Highly recommend for supplemental studying."
An Otherwise Healthy Woman
by
First Place in Creative Works from the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year Awards Second Place in Professional Issues from the American Journal of Nursing's Book of the Year Awards The poems in An Otherwise Healthy Woman delve into the complexity of modern health care, illness, and healing, offering an alternative narrative to heroics and miracles. Drawing on Amy Haddad's firsthand experiences as a nurse and patient, the poems in this collection teach us to take a moment to stop and acknowledge the longing for compassion in each of us, what ought to be the immediate human response to suffering. The poet isn't afraid to explore her own fears and failures or to find joy and humor in the many roles women play. An Otherwise Healthy Woman presents the intimate experiences of a nurse, the vulnerable perspective of a patient, and the lessons of caring for family.
Practical Implementation Science: moving evidence into action
by
Awarded First Place in the AJN 2022 Book of the Year Awards in the Community/Public Health Category! "Practical Implementation Science: Moving Evidence Into Action provides the ideal text for a master's-level implementation science course. It fills an important gap by focusing on building skills among trainees whose careers will focus more on implementation practice than research, and prepares them to partner with scientists to enhance effective implementation in public health and health systems. Most importantly, my students feel that the book is helping make a topic that can be experienced as complex, very accessible." Donna Shelley, MD, MPH Professor Dept. Public Health Policy and Management Director, Global Center for Implementation Science NYU School of Global Public Health Practical Implementation Science is designed for graduate health professional and advanced undergraduate students who want to master the steps of using implementation science to improve public health. Engaging and accessible, this textbook demonstrates how to implement evidence-based practices effectively through use of relevant theories, frameworks, models, tools, and research findings. Additional real-world case studies across public health, global health, and health policy provide essential context to the major issues facing implementation domestically and globally with consideration of communities in low-to-middle-income countries (LMIC). The textbook is organized around the steps involved in planning, executing, and evaluating implementation efforts to improve health outcomes in communities. Coverage spans assessing the knowledge-practice gap; selecting an evidence-based practice (EBP) to reduce the gap; assessing EBP fit and adapting the EBP; assessing barriers and facilitators of implementation; engaging stakeholders; creating an implementation structure; implementing the EBP; and evaluating the EBP effort. Each chapter includes a "how to" approach to conducting the task at hand. The text also addresses the practical importance of implementation science through disseminating EBPs; scaling up EBPs; sustaining EBPs; and de-implementing practices that are no longer effective. All chapters include learning objectives and summaries with emphasized Key Points for Practice, Common Pitfalls in Practice, and discussion questions to direct learning and classroom discussion. Fit for students of public health, health policy, nursing, medicine, mental health, behavioral health, allied health, and social work, Practical Implementation Science seeks to bridge the gap from scientific evidence to effective practice. Key Features: Soup to Nuts Approach - Distills the steps to selecting, adapting, implementing, evaluating, scaling up, and sustaining evidence-based practices Expert Insight - Editors and chapter authors bring years of experience from leading implementation programs and interventions Multidisciplinary Focus - Utilizes cases and research findings relevant to students of public health, medicine, nursing, mental health, behavioral health, and social work Case Studies and Real-World Examples - Blends frameworks, models, and tools with real-world examples for students interested in both domestic and global health eBook Access - Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computers Instructor's Packet - Complete with an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, and a Sample Syllabus.
Standing at Water's Edge: a cancer nurse, her four-year old son and the shifting tides of leukemia
by
Janice Post-White was an oncology nurse who thought she knew what life with cancer was about--until her four-year-old son was diagnosed with leukemia. While he drew pictures to process his emotions, she buried her feelings and threw herself into managing a dual role as a medical professional and mother. Her memoir shares her son's perspective as a young cancer patient and teen survivor, and explores her own personal and professional insights on survivorship, resilience, healing and what facing death can teach us about living.
Take Charge of Your Nursing Career
by
Awarded second place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Nursing Education/Continuing Education/Professional Development! The essential theme of the book is the notion of career as a fluid process. A career is not stagnant or simply a job. It is a process that must be nurtured-constantly grown and managed. A career is an opportunity to find one's voice and use it to promote both the individual and professional impact of one's expertise. A career should be challenging, always giving way to more learning and mentoring opportunities. Career is a global concept; the intricacies of career development and management across the globe cannot be overlooked. A career journey ebbs and flows-one of the great characteristics of a professional nursing career. There are always options to consider on one's career path-opportunities to gain experience and expertise in diverse areas, often never considered by professional nurses. Take Charge of Your Nursing Career provides the reader with a unique and distinct perspective on career development and management. It covers timely and relevant topics, strategies, tips, and examples for professional nurses to use to develop and manage their careers from beginning to end. It also provides resources and websites that they can access as needed as they define their personal career trajectory. The topics discussed throughout the book are ones that professional nurses at all points on their career journey are asking about and dealing with in their careers, now and in the future. Professional nurses can turn to this user-friendly book through the entirety of their career.
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.