Visit: Our hours
Schedule an Appointment
Get Research Help from a Librarian
Call:
Brighton: (585) 292-2303
Downtown: (585) 685-6005
Email:
libraries@monroecc.edu
Welcome! Librarians created this guide to help you start your nursing research. Click the tabs to explore quality information resources.
The MCC Libraries Catalog lists our books. Search it to see if we own a title and where you can find it.
Newer titles are also listed on the American Journal of Nursing (AJN) Books of the Year page.
The 5 Must-Know Tips for Nurses
by
In this book, we discuss the 5 most common nursing tips for working with survivors of domestic violence. Tips for nursing students first year, second year, all the way through DNP can and will benefit from the must know tips outlined in this book. Working with survivors of domestic violence is complex because it's an emotional issue, not a logical issue. That's why the responses and actions from survivors don't make rational or logical sense. But understanding the reasons people stay, how to best support survivors and ways to be the most helpful you can be, will prove to make your job so much easier when you come into contact with a survivor. The key is to be prepared. This book with make sure you're prepared for everything a survivor can throw at you.
Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook
by
Create individualized nursing care plans with ease and confidence! Ackley and Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 13th Edition uses an easy, three-step system to guide you through client assessment, nursing diagnosis, and care planning. Step-by-step instructions show how to implement care and evaluate outcomes, and help you build skills in diagnostic reasoning and critical thinking. To make care planning easier, this handbook allows you to look up nursing diagnoses and care plans for more than 1450 client symptoms, as well as interventions from NIC (Nursing Interventions Classification) and outcomes from NOC (Nursing Outcomes Classification). Edited by noted nursing educators Mary Beth Flynn Makic and Marina Reyna Martinez-Kratz, this reference provides everything you need to write nursing care plans in just one book! Easy-to-follow Sections I and II guide you through the nursing process and selection of appropriate nursing diagnoses. Step-by-step instructions show how to use the Guide to Nursing Diagnoses and Guide to Planning Care sections to create a unique, individualized plan of care. UNIQUE! Care plans are provided for each NANDA-International© (NANDA-I©) -approved nursing diagnosis. Evolve website includes a care plan template, case studies, review questions, and more! Evidence-based interventions and rationales include research studies and references supporting the use of each intervention. Examples of and suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes are presented in each care plan. Quality and safety content emphasizes what must be considered to provide safe patient care, and includes QSEN content in Section I. Pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, and home care interventions are included as appropriate for plans of care. Index of NANDA-I© Diagnoses on the inside back cover of the book provides quick reference to page numbers. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. NEW! Updated content is based on the 2021-2023 NANDA-I©-approved nursing diagnoses and reflects new diagnoses, revised diagnoses, and retired diagnoses. NEW! Updated nursing diagnoses include class and domain information as consistent with the current NANDA-I.
Davis's comprehensive manual of laboratory and diagnostic tests with nursing implications
Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses
by
Master the skills you need to communicate effectively in the health care setting! Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Nurses, 9th Edition shows how you can interact with patients, families, and the health care team in ways that are professional, honest, empathetic, and knowledgeable. A clear guide to essential competencies, this book covers relationship skills, health promotion, patients with special communication needs, and interprofessional communication. Case examples make it easier to apply communication theories to real-life practice. New to this edition are Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN)-style case studies and a new chapter on managing personal stress. Written by noted educator Kathleen Underman Boggs, this reference is a two-time winner of the American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year award. Integrated holistic health approach focuses on patient-centered communication and the entire health experience, which requires a fresh perspective and a higher level of patient and family involvement. Nursing, behavioral, developmental, family, and communication theories provide an essential foundation and a theoretical perspective for effective communication. Learning features in each chapter include objectives, basic concepts, and clinical application, all connected by case examples and a relevant research study or analysis of multiple studies. Case examples help you learn to develop empathy for clients' perspectives and needs. Simulation exercises offer an opportunity to practice, observe, and critically evaluate your professional communication skills in a safe learning environment. Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize research findings related to the chapter topic Ethical Dilemma boxes help you understand key ethical concepts. Chapters on communication across the lifespan focus on the communication needs of children, older adults, patients with communication deficits, patients in end-of-life care, and others. Coverage of Quality & Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) competencies focuses on the skills, knowledge, and abilities needed for patient-centered care. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX®-style case studies apply concepts to realistic scenarios. NEW! Intrapersonal Communication to Self-Manage Stress and Promote Nurse Wellness chapter introduces self-communication and specific self-management strategies. NEW! Updated content links concepts to current issues and best practices, and reflects national and global clinical guidelines as well as a new understanding of patient-centered communication, collaborative interprofessional communication, and team-based approaches. NEW! Updated chapters on interprofessional collaboration and teamwork highlight a team-based model of health care, with patients, providers, and families working together.
Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing : an interpersonal approach
by
"It is an absolutely perfect modern-day resource for nursing student learning!" -Nursing Instructor, Illinois CollegePsychiatric Mental Health Nursing: An Interpersonal Approach, Third Edition is a foundational resource that weaves both the psychodynamic and neurobiological theories into the strategies for nursing interventions. Grounded in the Peplau's and Travelbee's Interpersonal Theories, the content focuses on the power of connectedness between patient and nurse.Throughout the Third Edition, the authors impart their expertise and experience by providing nurses with the tools and information they need to provide care for all patients. Clinical decision making is a hallmark of this text, equipping students with the knowledge and skills to be confident and successful in nursing practicing. Focused on the well-being of both the patient and the nurse, it offers a wealth of tools to guide practitioners in setting healthy boundaries that can be leveraged throughout one's career. Meets the APNA/ISPN Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing curriculum guidelines. Only text of its kind to emphasize Interpersonal Nursing Theory based concepts throughout each chapter Includes Therapeutic Interaction, Care Planning, and How Would You Respond? sections fostering clinical judgement skills Addresses the Future of Nursing 2020-2030 recommendation on social determinants of health and health equity as it relates to mental health QSEN concepts correlated to chapter content found throughout the text Objective psychopharmacology content explores pros and cons of this treatment modality Trauma-informed care content included throughout the text Vivid real-life consumer perspective sections compliment key chapters and promote insight and understanding Evidence-based practice modules correlate current research to key topic and stewards critical thinking Updated chapter on sexuality and how to support sexual health as a nurse NCLEX practice questions conclude each chapter promoting test preparation Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing Psychiatric Nursing Promotion of Mental Health Mental Health Nursing © 2023 | 700 pages
State of the World's Nursing 2025 : Investing in Education, Jobs, Leadership and Service Delivery.
by
Studying a Study and Testing a Test: Reading Evidence-Based Health Research
by
This complete package of textbook, interactive exercises, and real research articles is designed for use alongside Journal Clubs conducted in medical, nursing, and other health professions programs, as well as in evidence-based medicine courses. It employs the authors' proven, step-by-step framework, and strengthens students' and residents' ability to recognize a meaningful study, identify potential study flaws, and apply solid evidence in clinical decision making. Class tested by students in leading medical schools, Studying a Study and Testing a Test, Seventh Edition, features a suite of resources ideal for traditional learning, flipped-classroom approaches, and distance learning: Interactive online Journal Club review, available on thePoint, reinforces the fundamentals of critiquing research using simulated studies and flaw-catching exercises, which help you prepare for success on Step 2, Step 3, and other certifying examinations. M.A.A.R.I.E. framework provides a questions-to-ask approach for critical review of clinical research from observational and randomized studies to decision analyses and cost-effectiveness analyses. Reading the Research, available on thePoint, provides full-length articles and abstracts that prompt critical reading and interactive discussions of case-control studies, cohort studies, and randomized controlled trials. New flaw-catching exercises included at the end of each unit provide additional practice using the M.A.A.R.I.E. approach to recognize study flaws. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more.
Pam Czaja
Web Services Librarian
Library Liaison to the School of Heath Sciences and Physical Wellness
LeRoy V Good Library, 2-318
(585) 292-2308
pczaja@monroecc.edu
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.
