A collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools. Includes information on drugs, diseases, toxicology, patient education materials, lab tests, and diagnostic procedures. Note: Due to browser caching issues you must LOGOUT of the UpToDateLexidrug database AND close the window before accessing the UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry database.
About the Lexidrug Mobile App
MCC Library's current subscription to UpToDate Lexidrug is in effect from November 1, 2024 to October 31, 2025 and includes 15 Lexidrug app access codes. With each annual UpToDate Lexidrug subscription renewal, the previous year's app access expires and 15 new Lexidrug app access codes become available.
To Access Your Lexidrug Mobile App
Handouts
If you have questions or need assistance, contact Pam Czaja, Library Liaison to the School of Health Sciences and Physical Wellness.
2023 Nurse's Drug Handbook
by
2023 Nurse's Drug Handbook is the most up-to-date, practical, and easy-to-use nursing drug reference. Updated annually, it provides accurate and timely facts on hundreds of drugs from A-Z. Written in a straightforward style with approachable terminology, it offers concise and consistently formatted drug entries organized alphabetically.The 2023 Nurse's Drug Handbook includes:* Index of all generic, trade, and alternate drug names* Chemical and therapeutic classes, FDA pregnancy risk category, and controlled substance schedule* Indications and dosages, as well as route, onset, peak, and duration information* Incompatibilities and contraindications* Interactions with drugs, food, and activities* Adverse reactions* Nursing considerations, including key teaching points for patients* Mechanism-of-action illustrations* Warnings and precautions* Updated appendices, including Uncommon Drugs* Bolded life-threatening Adverse Drug Reactions (ADRs)New drugs added to the 2023 Nurse's Drug Handbook include: Aducanumab-avwa, Atogepant, Baricitini, Cabotegravi, Dasiglucagon, Difelikefalin, Evinacumab-dgnb, Finerenone, Ibrexafungerp, Inclisiran, Molnupiravir, Nirmatrelvir, Ponesimod, Tezepelumab-ekko, Tralokinumab-ldrm, Vericiguat.
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
by
Nursing student must-have. "This is a must-have. Hands down the best book ever."--Jennifer S. SAFETY FIRST WITH 'CURE & CARE'! Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses®, Nineteenth Edition delivers everything you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan--well-organized monographs encompassing hundreds of generic drugs and thousands of trade names. It's the #1 Drug Guide for patient safety. BONUS! FREE DIGITAL ACCESS An access code inside new, printed texts unlocks a one-year, FREE subscription to DrugGuide.com, Davis's Drug Guide Online, powered by Unbound Medicine. You'll have information on more than 5,000 trade names and generic drugs at your fingertips, as well as audio pronunciations and color photographs, all updated regularly. LIFE-SAVING GUIDANCE AT A GLANCE In depth coverage of patient safety, including a red tab for high alert medications, red, bold, capitalized letters for life-threatening side effects, a REMS (Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies) icon, and more Special considerations for patient populations IV administration subheads Pharmacogenomic content Maple leaf icon for Canadian-specific content Patient and family teaching guidance FREE ONLINE LEARNING, CARE PLANNING, AND PATIENT EDUCATION TOOLS Audio Library of 1,200+ drug names Tutorials with self-tests, Preventing Medication Errors and Psychotropic Drugs Calculators for body mass index (BMI), metric conversions, IV drip rates, dosage/KG and Fahrenheit/Celsius. Interactive Case Studies, each followed by a series of questions Video clips illustrating the safe administration of medications
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference
by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications.
Some titles are shelved in the Stacks on the 4th Floor or available as e-books online. Click the title link to check location.
Clinical Nursing Calculations
by
Clinical Nursing Calculations is an essential text for teaching dosage calculation to undergraduate nursing students. The text employs the CASE approach, which is a step-by-step method for performing dosage calculations. Organized into four sections for easy navigation: Mathematics Overview, Principles of Medication Administration, Basic Dosage and Intravenous Calculations, and Advanced Calculations. In addition to clinical calculation coverage, the text also features expanded content on nutrition, insulin pencalculations, and the legal implications of medication administration.
Dosage Calculations for Nursing Students: Master Dosage Calculations in 24 Hours the Safe and Easy Way
by
Contains over 600 high quality practice problems with answers.
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy!
by
This fully illustrated guide offers the complete how-to on calculating dosages for all drug forms and administration routes, with numerous practice exercises and seasoned guidance on interpreting drug orders accurately.
Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy
by
Ready to master the medication process? Tap into the go-to resource for nursing pharmacology basics, with the fully updated new fifth edition of Pharmacology Made Incredibly Easy!®. Offering clear, concise descriptions of crucial nursing pharmacology concepts and procedures, this easy-to-follow, colorfully illustrated guide offers step-by-step guidance so to can grasp the fundamentals in enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. From initial assessment to safe medication administration and patient care plans, this is the perfect supplement to class materials, offering solid preparation for NCLEX®, as well as a handy refresher for experienced nurses. Learn the ins and outs of nursing pharmacology care, with the latest data and protocols: NEW chapters on patient education, sensory drugs, and dermatologic drugs NEW chapter on medication safety, including abbreviations to avoid and a review of dosage calculations NEW content on current approved medications, and dosages, and expected versus adverse effects NEW content on emergency drugs, herbs/supplements, immunization schedule, and more Hundreds of colorful diagrams, drawings, and charts that illustrate core concepts, with easy-to-retain definitions and clear direction on administering drugs; drug distribution, absorption, and metabolism; drug classes and their uses; and potential drug interactions Quick-scan outline format offers up-to-date guidance on areas including: Nursing pharmacology fundamentals Concepts of pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and pharmacotherapeutics Pain drugs, autonomic nervous system drugs, neurologic and neuromuscular drugs Psychotherapeutic, anti-infective, anti-inflammatory, anti-allergy, and immunosuppressant drugs Antineoplastic drugs, drugs for fluid and electrolyte balance Ways a drug may affect patients of different ages and other warnings Content reflects the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model - guidance from initial assessment to evaluating outcomes "Practice Makes Perfect" end-of-book practice exam - approximately 100 new NCLEX®-style questions, to increase your exam confidence Chapter features include: Prototype pro - Actions, indications, and nursing considerations for common prototype drugs A three-step process is provided throughout the chapters to help you care for individuals taking commonly prescribed medications Pharm function - Explains and illustrates how drugs act in the body, and addresses how to recognize and treat adverse reactions Before you give that drug - Warnings to consider before you administer a drug Education edge - Information to share with your patient Black Box Warnings boxes draw attention to life-threatening concerns Lifespan Lightbulb boxes highlight information about how a drug or drug class may affect patients of different ages Quick quiz - End-of-chapter questions with answers/explanations, to help you remember the essentials Nurse Joy and Jake illustrated characters offer tips and insights throughout About the Clinical Editors Cherie R. Rebar, PhD, MBA, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, FAADN, is a Professor of Nursing at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio Nicole Heimgartner, DNP, MSN, RN, CNE, CNECI, COI, is a Nursing Faculty member at Galen College of Nursing in Louisville, Kentucky Carolyn Gersch, PhD, MSN, RN, CNE, is a Professor of Practice in the Nursing Program at Wittenberg University in Springfield, Ohio
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.