This chapter in your textbook covers important topics like professional skill building, networking, the Schools at MCC, advising, and registration. This page has links to information on those topics and how they impact your success as a student.
If you have questions or need help accessing MCC Libraries, let us know at libraries@monroecc.edu or 585-292-2303.
The New Information Professional
This book's progressive approach, unmatched scope and up-to-date guidance will open the doors to a wide range of exciting information-age careers to undergraduates, high school students, parents, and advisors along with Information students and recent graduates who are interested in exploring emerging career paths. Written by a team of seasoned career services experts at the University of Michigan, one of the nation's leading iSchools, this exceedingly comprehensive new resource provides in-depth coverage of career opportunities in eight core information fields, including: Archives and preservation management Human computer interaction Information analysis and retrieval Information systems management Information policy Library and information services Records management Social computing Chapters are clearly organized by field, and each one includes a fully-fleshed description, real world profile, education and training programs, example job titles, illustrated career maps, and online resources for additional exploration. There is also an invaluable chapter on career planning that covers self-assessment, career-decision making, networking, and job search strategies. The New Information Professional is an indispensable resource for career information collections within school, public, and academic libraries, as well as for college career centers and career counselors.
Pathfinder, Third Edition
A great resource with many activities, an extensive career interest checklist, and useful career information that reinforce critical thinking, reading, problem solving, and communication skills.
What Do You Want to Do When You Grow Up?
The first two links below take you to career resources right here at MCC!
Vault provides information on careers, industries, and professions, and also includes current job listings, company profiles, interview tips, and an Internship Resource Center. Vault also provides access to 70+ micro-credentialing courses, and 300+ career fairs through CareerEco. Note: This database requires you to login with your MCC Network Account.
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.
