Purdue Online Writing Lab - APA General Format: gives detailed information on title page, font, and more.
Purdue Online Writing Lab - MLA General Format
ATTENTION: New and updated 9th edition was published in April 2021.
In many databases you might find citation clicking on the following character 
.
VERY IMPORTANT: Do not trust blindly citations generated. Some are correct and some are not. Use them responsibly!
Always check the latest edition of the APA or MLA Citation Manual or online Research and Citation Resources.
Many databases provide pre-formatted citations for the articles, e-books, videos, and other material they contain. This can be really handy, as the pre-formatted citations usually contain all the information you need to add the citation to your bibliography or list of works cited.
HOWEVER, USE THESE PRE-FORMATTED CITATIONS WITH CAUTION, BECAUSE THEY'RE NOT ALWAYS PERFECT. It is your responsibility to make sure the citations you include in your work are formatted according to the citation style your professor assigned. For example, many database citation tools do not apply the correct capitalization style in article or book titles. BE SURE TO COMPARE THE COPIED CITATION TO THE ASSIGNED CITATION FORMAT.
Refer to the instructions below for information about where citation tools are located in EBSCOhost and Gale OneFile databases (which are the majority of our databases). For all others, click the tabs above for instructions; when available, most citation tools can be found by clicking on a link or button labeled "Cite" or "Citation," or it may simply be represented by the symbol for quotation marks. Last updated: July 8, 2024.
Here is an example of the Cite link that appears in the Tools menu in EBSCOhost databases:
Here is an example of the Cite link that appears in the top-right corner of the page in most Gale OneFile databases:
|
|
|
|---|---|
| Academic Video Online (AVON) | Click the "Cite" link under the video title and description (between "Play" and "Share"). |
| ARTstor | Click on an image, click on "Cite" in the top-right corner of the page, and select the citation format to copy, or export to the preferred citation tool. |
| Auto Repair Reference Center | EBSCO, but no citation tool is available within this database. |
| Britannica Academic Edition | Click on the "Cite" link represented by a checkmark icon under the heading of the article. For images and videos, click on "Media Details" to access this option. |
| BrowZine | BrowZine accesses articles through a variety of providers, so citations generators may not always be available, and accessibility may not be consistent. |
| Choice Reviews | No citation tool is available within this database. |
| Chronicle of Higher Education | No citation tool is available within this database. |
| Civil Rights and Social Justice - HeinOnline | Click on the "Cite" link above the table of contents on the left side of the page. |
| Credo Reference | Citations are provided at the bottom of the article, or use the "Citation" link at the top of the page to copy or export to citation management software. |
| Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) | No citation tool available within the database; DOAJ accesses articles through a variety of providers, so citations generators may not always be available, and accessibility may not be consistent. |
|
|
|
|---|---|
| Education Week | No citation tool available within the database. |
| ERIC - Education Resources Information Center | No citation tool available within the database. |
| Films on Demand | Click the "Cite the Video" link in the menu directly below the video (MLA, Chicago, and Harvard only). |
| Gale LegalForms | Gale, but no citation tool is available within the database. |
| Gender Equity and Justice - Sage Journals | Click the "Cite article" link below the heading and above the abstract of the article. |
| Google Scholar | Click the "Cite" link just below the search result; Google accesses articles through a variety of providers, so citations generators may not always be available, and accessibility may not be consistent. |
| Gun Regulation and Legislation in America - HeinOnline | Click on the "Cite" link above the table of contents on the left side of the page. |
| HarpWeek | No citation tool available within the database. |
| HeinOnline Academic | Click on the "Cite" link above the table of contents on the left side of the page. |
|
|
|
|---|---|
| Journals@Ovid | Click the "Cite" link on the right side of the page, under "Tools." |
| JSTOR | Click on an image, click on "Cite" in the top-right corner of the page, and select the citation format to copy, or export to the preferred citation tool. |
| Kanopy | The Citation Tool is available in the "Share" menu underneath the video information. |
| Legacies of Colonialism - Sage Journals | Click the "Cite article" link below the heading and above the abstract of the article. |
| LGBTQIA+ Research - Sage Journals | Click the "Cite article" link below the heading and above the abstract of the article. |
| MathSciNet | No citation tool available within the database; MathSciNet accesses articles through a variety of providers, so citations generators may not always be available, and accessibility may not be consistent. |
| Monroe County Public Library System | No citation tool available within the database. |
| Morningstar Investment Research Center | No citation tool available within the database. |
|
|
|
|---|---|
| National Fire Protection Association (NFPA): Codes & Standards | No citation tool available within the database. |
| NCBI Bookshelf | Click "Cite this Page" in the "Views" menu on the right side of the page. |
| New England Journal of Medicine | No built-in citation tool available, but if you are using citation management software such as EndNote or RefWorks, click on the "Download Citation" link from the "... More" menu on the left side of the page. |
| New York Times Digital Edition | No citation tool available within the database. |
| Online Etymology Dictionary | Click on 'Cite' at the bottom of the page, next to links to share the page. |
| Open Society Justice Initiative - HeinOnline | Click on the "Cite" link above the table of contents on the left side of the page. |
| Peterson's Test and Career Prep | No citation tool available within the database. |
| Project Muse | Click the "View Citation" link under the article or book information. |
| ProQuest Ebook Central | Click the "Cite Book" link on the left side of the "Bibliographic Info" page (the first page you see before you access the e-book). A "Get Citation" icon is also available in the menu bar after you access the e-book. |
| PubMed Central (PMC) | Click the "Cite" link on the right side of the page. "Cite" link also shown in search results. |
| PubMed.gov | Click the "Cite" link on the right side of the page (available in full-text articles). (AMA, APA, MLA, and NLM only.) |
|
|
|
|---|---|
| Salem Literature | Click the "Article Citation" link at the top of the menu on the left side of the page. |
| Science Online | Click on the quotation marks for the "Cite" menu above the article's abstract. If you are using citation management software, such as EndNote or RefWorks, you can also "Export citation" from this menu. |
| ScienceDirect | Click on the "Cite" drop-down menu next to "Share" at the top of the page. Select "Export citation to text." A text file will be generated with the information necessary to create a citation, but it does not conform to a specific format, such as APA. |
| Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law - HeinOnline | Click on the "Cite" link above the table of contents on the left side of the page. |
| STAT!Ref | Click on "Citations" in the menu above the article. |
| Statista | Click "View options" under "Citation formats" in the "Source" menu on the right side of the page to select your preferred citation format. |
| Structural Racism and Police Violence - Sage Journals | Click the "Cite article" link below the heading and above the abstract of the article. |
| UpToDate Lexidrug UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry |
See examples on Referencing UpToDate and UpToDate Lexidrug. |
| Vault: Career Resources | No citation tool available within the database. |
| WorldCat | Click on the "Cite" button/link underneath the image of the item to the left of the item information. |
You can now find over 2 million high-quality images from Artstor right alongside JSTOR’s books, journal articles, and primary sources. Use JSTOR’s unique Workspace tool to save, organize, and use images for papers, presentations, or teaching.To learn more visit the Artstor Experience on JSTOR welcome page and the Artstor on JSTOR: Working with Images guide.
Accessibility is important to us. While we have made efforts to make our guides as accessible as possible, it is possible that issues could be present. If you are having difficulty accessing content in these guides or if you have any questions about the accessibility of online information posted by the MCC Libraries, please contact us.