Images, Motion Pictures, and Videos

Maps in print (books and atlases):

Atlas of the Road '18: Florida. Map. Rand,

       2004, pp. 26-27.

"Battle of the Marne." Map. The Historical Atlas of

      World War I, Anthony Livesey, 

      Henry Holt, 2018, p. 35.

Maps in a library database:

"LI-NYC region."  Map. “New York City Storm

       Surges: Climatology and an Analysis of

       the Wind and Cyclone Evolution,” Journal

       of Applied Meterology & Climatology, 

       vol. 49, no. 1, 2010, pp. 102-112. Academic

       Search Complete, doi:101.2/jam.2010.1.102.

Maps from the Internet:

"File:Haiti - Location Map (2013) - HTI -

       UNOCHA.svg." Wikimedia Commons, 

       18 Nov. 2014, https://commons.

       wikimedia.org/w/index.php?

       title=File:Haiti_-

       _Location_Map_(2013)

       _-_HTI_-_UNOCHA.svg&oldid=139822194.

When formatting a works cited page, remember:

• Organize all entries in alphabetical order.
• Indent the second and further rows.
• Use double-spacing between entries.

For more information see the MLA Citation Style Manual in your library

LB2369 .G53 2016

City Ref LB2369 .G53 2016

and/or the following websites: 

For images of paintings, sculptures, photographs, or other graphic media:

GENERAL TEMPLATE FOR CITING SOURCES IN PRINT

Artist's Last Name, First Name [if any]. Title of Visual Art. Year of creation, Medium of creation,

      Name of Institution holding the artwork, City of Institution. Title of publication, by Author's 

      First & Last Name [or edited by Editor's First & Last Name], Publisher, publishing year,

       Page or Plate number.

Examples of cited images in print:

Book:

Denis, Maurice. The Muses. 1893, oil on canvas, Musee d'Orsay, Paris. Symbolism, edited by Norbert Wolf,

      Taschen, 2009, p. 67. 

Magazine:

Ludwig, Gerd. Deep Breathing in a Salt Room. n.d., photograph, private collection. 

      "The Past Is Never Past in Sevastopol," by Cathy Newman, National Geographic, April 2011, p. 73.

Notes:

• If the year of creation is unknown, write n.d.
• When an artwork belongs to a private collection, write the name of the private collection (if known).
• If the collector is unknown or wants to stay anonymous, write private collection.
• Italicize a title of the work if the work stands on its own. Put it in quotation marks (and do not italicize) if it is a part of a larger work.

___________________________________________________________________________ 

GENERAL TEMPLATE FOR CITING DIGITAL IMAGES

Artist's Last Name, First Name. Title of Visual Art. Year of creation,

      Medium of creation, Name of Institution holding the artwork, City of Institution. Title of

      Website or Database, URL.

Notes:

• If the year of creation is unknown, write n.d.
• When an artwork belongs to a private collection, write the name of the private collection (if known).
• If the collector is unknown or wants to stay anonymous, write private collection.
• Italicize a title of the work if the work stands on its own. Put it in quotation marks (and do not italicize) if it is a part of a larger work.

Examples of cited library database images:

"Leo and Sonya Tolstoy." 23 Sept. 1910, photograph. Russian Life, vol. 53, no. 1, 2017. Academic Search

      Complete, doi:10.1221/rl203.

"Napoleon III." 1872, photograph. The Bridgeman Art Library Archive, Bridgeman, 2018.

      Credo Reference, http://credo.com/22893895680.

Wikins, Peter. "France President Sarkozy Addresses General Assembly at United Nations." 2016, photograph.

      UPI Photo Collection. Academic OneFile. http://upi.com/27999999880808/photofile/222.

Examples of cited images from the Internet:

Eisenstaedt, Alfred. Walt Disney. 1950, photograph. Google LIFE Archive, 

      http://images.google.com/hosted/life/6c08519dd8af3309.html.

Paley, Albert. The Sentinel. 2003, sculpture, Rochester Institute of Technology, Rochester, NY.

      "Albert Paley," Craft in America, http://www.craftinamerica.org/artists/albert-paley/.